What is level 1 in Scotland? Covid restrictions explained as Nicola Sturgeon gives update on lockdown rules

Glasgow has moved into tier two, while some local authorities have not moved down a tier

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon has announced that many areas of Scotland will move into level one from Midnight on Friday 4 June, allowing for a greater level of normality across the much of the country

Glasgow has now been allowed to move into level two from level three, but it wasn’t all good news as some council areas which expected to move to level one will remain in level two.

This latest revision of the routemap means no areas in Scotland’s are above level two, allowing everyone in Scotland to move freely around the country and the rest of the UK.

Scots across Scotland have enjoyed the eased restrictions in the past few weeks, as hospitality venues reopened (Picture: Getty Images)
Scots across Scotland have enjoyed the eased restrictions in the past few weeks, as hospitality venues reopened (Picture: Getty Images)
Scots across Scotland have enjoyed the eased restrictions in the past few weeks, as hospitality venues reopened (Picture: Getty Images)

So, what are the rules in level one, and what tier is each council area in? This is what you need to know.

What social distancing rules are in place at level one?

According to the Scottish Government website, at level one you can meet with up to six people from three households in your home or theirs. Overnight stays are also allowed.

There is no requirement to socially distance indoors either, meaning you can all be together in the same room, with no masks necessary.

For restaurants and cafes, eight people from three households can dine together indoors, with up to 12 from different households able to sit together outside.

Children under the age of 12 do not count towards limited numbers, therefore six adults and their children could all meet up in one household.

Working from home should continue where possible, despite the alleviated restrictions.

Can events take place?

In level one, all entertainment venues can reopen, except from nightclubs and adult entertainment venues.

Events at stadiums can also take place, with maximum numbers in place.

Outdoor seated and open space events are advised to operate with a maximum capacity of 1,000 people.

Outdoor group standing events must operate with a maximum capacity of 500 people and small indoor seated events have a maximum capacity of 200 people.

A maximum capacity of 100 people are allowed at weddings and funerals. Wakes also have a maximum capacity of 100 people, and all other celebratory events should follow event guidelines.

What are the travel rules in level one?

You can travel anywhere in the UK unrestricted, as long as the area is in levels 0, one or two.

People living in level three areas should not travel into a lower tier area, so no one from level three should visit a level one area unless for essential reasons.

What restrictions remain in place in level one?

The majority of restrictions remain in place for hospitality settings such as bars, restaurants, pubs and cafes.

While greater numbers of households can meet up, there remains a strict policy of closing by 11pm and keeping social distancing rules in place.

Venues must continue to keep a one to two metre distance between tables and provide table service only.

All diners must wear a face covering when not seated, such as when visiting the restroom, entering and leaving the venue and walking around inside.

Test and trace should still take place and information will continue to be kept on record for 21 days. Venues should also use a booking system to minimise walk-ins where possible and help manage the number of people inside a hospitality setting at any one time.

In shops, you should continue to wear a face covering and shops should provide hand sanitiser and operate a one-way system where possible.

Hotels should only accommodate one household per room and follow hospitality guidelines in hotel restaurants and bars. Room service can operate unrestricted.

What area are now in level one?

From 17 May, Orkney, Shetland, Na h-Eileanan Siar, all islands in Highland (except Skye) and the Argyll and Bute islands of Coll, Colonsay, Erraid, Gometra, Iona, Islay, Jura, Mull, Oronsay, Tiree and Ulva were moved into level one.

From Saturday 5 June, the Highlands, Argyll & Bute, Aberdeen City and Aberdeenshire, Moray, Angus, Perth and Kinross, Falkirk Fife, Inverclyde, East and West Lothian, West Dunbartonshire, Dumfries & Galloway and the Borders will move to level one.

Glasgow will move into level two from Saturday, while Renfrewshire and East Renfrewshire, East Dunbartonshire and the Ayrshires will all remain tier two.