Amber list UK: countries on travel list after latest update, including Spain and Greece - and rules explained

Arrivals in England from France will no longer need to quarantine if they are fully vaccinated against Covid

The UK’s travel lists have been updated, with several popular holiday destinations remaining on the amber list.

Canada, Denmark, Finland, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Switzerland, and the Azores will move to the green list from Monday 30 August at 4am, while Montenegro and Thailand have been downgraded from amber to red, meaning returning traveller will have to quarantine in a hotel.

However, no new countries have moved to amber from the green or red lists in this latest update. So which countries are still amber - and what are the rules? This is what you need to know.

Visitors returning from amber destinations will still be required to quarantine or self-isolate on arrival (Getty Images)

What travel restrictions are in place for amber countries?

Here's how the new traffic light system works (Credit: Kim Mogg)

People returning from amber countries must take two post-arrival tests.

They are also required to self-isolate at home for 10 days, although they can reduce that time if they take an additional negative test on day-five.

Each country has its own entry requirements, so it's important to check these before travelling out of the UK.

As of 19 July, fully-vaccinated UK residents and under 18s no longer need to quarantine when returning from amber list countries.

The recommendation is still that people should not currently travel to amber list countries.

Anyone who is not fully vaccinated, and who does not quarantine at home after international travel can be fined £1,000, which may increase to up to £10,000 for repeat offences.

Which countries have been allocated amber status?

The updated list includes the majority of Europe, as well as the US and Canada.

Canada, Denmark, Finland, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Switzerland, and the Azores will move to the green list 4am, Monday 30 August, and Montenegro and Thailand will move to the red list at the same time.

If you arrive in the UK from any of these destinations before then you must follow the amber list rules.

Full list of amber countries:

  • Akrotiri and Dhekelia
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Andorra
  • Armenia
  • Aruba
  • Azerbaijan
  • The Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • China
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Cook Islands, Tokelau and Niue
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Curaçao
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic (Czechia)
  • Djibouti
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Estonia
  • Fiji
  • France
  • French Polynesia
  • Gabon
  • The Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Greece (including islands)
  • Greenland
  • Guadeloupe
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Honduras
  • Hungary
  • India
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kiribati
  • Kosovo
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Luxembourg
  • Macao
  • Madagascar
  • Malaysia
  • Mali
  • Marshall Islands
  • Martinique
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Morocco
  • Nauru
  • Netherlands
  • New Caledonia
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • North Korea
  • North Macedonia
  • The Occupied Palestinian Territories
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Poland
  • Portugal (including the Azores) Madeira is on the green watchlist.
  • Qatar
  • Russia
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • South Sudan
  • Spain, including the Canary Islands and the Balearic Islands (Formentera, Ibiza, Mallorca, Menorca)
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Maarten
  • St Martin and St Barthélemy
  • St Pierre and Miquelon
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Sweden
  • Syria
  • Tajikistan
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Turkmenistan
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States (USA)
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vatican City
  • Vietnam
  • Wallis and Futuna
  • Western Sahara
  • Yemen

When is the next travel update?

The travel reviews are scheduled to take place every three weeks, with the last update having taken place on Thursday 26 August. The changes from the latest review will come into effect from 4am on Monday 30 August.The next review of travel restrictions is expected to come on Thursday 16 September.Any changes that are announced will likely come into effect from 4am on the following Sunday or Monday.