Seven new countries will join the green travel list on Monday 30 August (Photo: Shutterstock)

Green list countries: 7 new quarantine-free holiday spots added in UK travel update

Holidaymakers will have more quarantine-free destinations to visit from next week following the latest travel update.

Friday, 27th August 2021, 1:16 pm

The government announced a swathe of changes to the current travel lists on Thursday (26 August), with the green list set to gain seven new destinations next week.

Switzerland, Canada and Denmark will all be given green list status from 4am on Monday (30 August), along with the Azores, Finland, Liechtenstein and Lithuania.

The changes mean that travellers arriving in England from these countries will not have to self-isolate, regardless of their vaccination status.

However, it is still a requirement to take a pre-departure Covid-19 test and day two tests, as well as completing a passenger locator form.

Scotland and Northern Ireland will adopt the same updated rules, while the Welsh government is yet to confirm if it will follow suit.

While the changes will be welcomed by tourists, the travel industry has criticised the current restrictions, with Airlines UK calling for a “more proportionate system where tests are dropped for the fully vaccinated and from destinations where Covid risks are low”.

The government has defended its cautious approach to reopening international travel, saying loosening restrictions further could undermine the progress that has been made with the vaccine rollout.

Despite many popular holiday spots still remaining on the amber and red lists, the green list is continuing to expand and now includes more than 40 countries.

Listed are the destinations that will be added to the green list on Monday and their entry requirements.

Page 1 of 4