England v South Africa: when is T20 Cricket series? How to watch on UK TV, dates, location, tickets and squads

Jos Buttler is leading his side in another white-ball series against South Africa where they are currently 1-0 up.

England’s white-ball team have had their calendars exceptionally full recently with a T20 and ODI series against India quickly followed by an ODI and T20 series against South Africa.

The first of the three match series took place on Wednesday 27 July 2022 and saw Jonny Bairstow score 90 runs to take England’s total to 234-6.

Moeen Ali knocked his fastest ever 50 in T20 cricket as he scored 52 runs off 18 balls while Bairstow’s 90 came off 53 balls.

Lungo Ngidi took five wickets for 39 runs but his bowling was not enough to stop the rampant England.

South Africa replied with 193 but exceptional bowling from all of England’s bowlers ensured that 234 was an impossible score to reach.

Richard Gleeson took three wickets while Reece Topley and Adil Rashid took two apiece. Chris Jordan also put in a match-winning performance despite not taking any wickets as his death bowling guaranteed South Africa were unable to extend any sort of lead they might have enjoyed earlier in their innings.

England and South Africa will face each other once again later on today where South Africa will hope to even the score ahead of Sunday’s decider.

Here is all you need to know ahead of the upcoming T20 series between England and South Africa...

When is the England v South Africa T20 series?

There are three T20 matches overall. Here is the schedule:

  • Wednesday 27 July 2022, 6.30pm BST
  • Thursday 28 July 2022, 6.30pm BST
  • Sunday 31 July 2022, 2.30pm BST
Buttler, Jordan and Topley celebrate England’s 41 - run win

Where are the T20 matches taking place?

The first of the three matches took place at Gloucestershire’s Cricket Ground in Bristol. It has a capacity for 17,500 on international days and was first opened in 1889.

The second T20 is being hosted at the Sophia Gardens Cricket Ground in Cardiff. Located on the River Taff, the Sophia Gardens can host 15,643 spectators and is home to the Glamorgan County Cricket club.

The Rose Bowl, or for sponsorship purposes the Ageas Bowl, will host the third and final T20 match between England and South Africa.

Home to Hampshire Cricket club, the Ageas Bowl was opened in 2001 and has a capacity for 25,000.

How to buy tickets for the T20 matches

Tickets are reportedly sold out for the first and third matches in Bristol and Southampton respectively but tickets are still available for the middle match in Cardiff.

Go to the Glamorgan Cricket website to purchase tickets for the second T20.

How to watch England v South Africa T20 series

Sky Sports will once again have the full coverage of all the action from Bristol, Cardiff and Southampton.

Sky Sports Main Event and Sky Sports Cricket will be showing the matches with coverage on Main Event set to start 30 minutes before play.

Subscriptions for Sky Sport start at £46/month or daily passes are available with NowTV for £11.99/day.

Who is in the T20 squads?

England and South Africa will likely wait until the day of the matches to announce who is in their playing XI. However, here is who has made each squad:

England: Jos Buttler (C), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Richard Gleeson, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, David Willey.

South Africa: David Miller (C), Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Lungi Mgidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Andile, Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorious, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Rassie van der Dussen.