Which Premier League clubs will lose the most players through AFCON?

Here’s a look at every player who will be briefly departing their domestic clubs, as they take part in the Africa Cup of Nations.

A whole host of players in the Premier League will leave their clubs for a brief time, as they link up with their international teams and compete in the Africa Cup of Nations.

The tournament is held every two years, and was last won by Algeria in 2019.

AFCON was meant to be played out at the start of 2021, however, due to the Coronavirus pandemic that halted a whole host of sports, and English football was predominantly played behind closed doors, the Confederation of African Football decided to move the tournament back a year.

The tournament is scheduled to be hosted by Cameroon, and will feature 24 African countries battling it out to became the continent’s greatest.

AFCON will get underway on Sunday, January 9 and conclude on Sunday, February 6. During this time, Premier League clubs, and other clubs in Europe will lose their key assets during a crucial period in their domestic seasons.

Here’s every Premier League player set to play in AFCON.


Thomas Partey - Ghana

Mohamed Elneny - Egypt

Pierre Emerick Aubameyang - Gabon

Nicolas Pepe - Ivory Coast

Aston Villa

Bertrand Traore - Burkina Faso

Marvelous Nakamba - Zimbabwe


Frank Onyeka - Nigeria.

Tarique Fosu-Henry - Ghana


Yves Bissouma - Mali


Maxwel Cornet - Ivory Coast


Edouard Mendy - Senegal

Hakim Ziyech - Morocco

Crystal Palace

Cheikhou Kouyate - Senegal

Jeffrey Schlupp - Ghana

Jordan Ayew - Ghana

Wilfried Zaha - Ivory Coast


Jean-Philippe Gbamin - Ivory Coast

Alex Iwobi - Nigeria


Daniel Amartey - Ghana

Nampalys Mendy - Senegal

Wilfried Ndidi - Nigeria

Kelechi Iheanacho - Nigeria


Mohamed Salah - Egypt

Sadio Mane - Senegal

Naby Keita - Guinea

Manchester City

Riyad Mahrez - Leicester

Manchester United

Eric Bailly - Ivory Coast

Amad Diallo - Ivory Coast


Moussa Djenepo - Mali

Mohammed Salisu - Ghana


Peter Etebo - Nigeria

William Troost-Ekong - Nigeria

Adam Masina - Morocco

Ismaila Sarr - Senegal

Emmanuel Dennis - Nigeria

West Ham

Said Benrahma - Algeria


Romain Saiss - Morocco

Willy Boly - Ivory Coast

Related topics: