Uncapped quartet named in England's provisonal Euro 2020 squad

Aaron Ramsdale, Ben White and Ben Godfrey called up ahead of Euros

Sheffield United's goalkeeper Aaron Ramsdale has been called into the England squad.
Sheffield United's goalkeeper Aaron Ramsdale has been called into the England squad.

England head coach Gareth Southgate has today named his provisional squad for the upcoming European Championships.

The Three Lions boss has named a 33-man squad which will then be trimmed down to a maximum of 26 names on June 1.

Sign up to our World of Sport newsletter

Southgate has injury doubts over a number of key players, including Burnley goalkeeper Nick Pope, Manchester United defender Harry Maguire, Liverpool's Jordan Henderson, and Leeds United midfielder Kalvin Phillips.

England's Euro 2020 schedule.

Therefore, he has opted to pick a expanded squad before seeing how players respond to fitness tests and how players from Man United, Manchester City and Chelsea come through their Europa League and Champions League finals this week.

There were a number of surprise names, including the uncapped trio of Sheffield United goalkeeper Aaron Ramsdale, Brighton's Ben White and Everton defender Ben Godfrey. Another uncapped player is Sam Johnstone, who was in previous squad and looks set to be named in the 26-man final selection with Nick Pope injured.

Trent Alexander-Arnold was among four right-backs named, while Manchester United teenager Mason Greenwood has been recalled for the first time since being sent home after his debut in Iceland.

Eric Dier misses out on the Euro 2020 squad, but Alexander-Arnold returns to the group alongside fellow right-backs Reece James, Kieran Trippier and Kyle Walker. Bukayo Saka, Ollie Watkins and 17-year-old Jude Bellingham are among the others to get the nod.

Gareth Southgate, Head Coach of England, has named his provisional 33-man squad.

England provisional squad

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Manchester United), Sam Johnstone (West Brom), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Sheffield United)

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Conor Coady (Wolves), Ben Godfrey (Everton), Reece James (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City, Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Ben White (Brighton)

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jesse Lingard (West Ham), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds), Declan Rice (West Ham), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton)

Brighton defender Ben White has received a call-up.

Forwards: Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Phil Foden (Man City), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa), Mason Greenwood (Manchester United), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Man City), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa)

When does Euro 2020 start?

The rearranged Euro 2020 tournament will begin on 11 June 2021.

The championships were pushed back a year due to the Covid outbreak, though it has maintained its initial name Euro 2020 to honour the 60th anniversary of the tournament.

Summer international sporting events have a way of bringing people together in what is hoped to be a festival of football across the continent, with 11 European cities hosting fixtures.

What are England’s Euro 2020 fixtures?

England have two warm-up matches against Austria on Wednesday 2 June (8pm) and Romania on Sunday 6 June (5pm) before the tournament begins.

Their Group D fixtures are:

Sunday 13 June: England v Croatia (2pm)

Friday 18 June: England v Scotland (8pm)

Tuesday 22 June: England v Czech Republic (8pm)