What is the Premier League Hall of Fame? Wayne Rooney and Patrick Vieira latest to be inducted

Here is all you need to know about the latest Premier League Hall of Fame inductees and how to vote for more stars.
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

Former Premier League stars Wayne Rooney and Patrick Vieira have become the latest players to be honoured with a place in the Premier League Hall of Fame.

Rooney is the Premier League’s all-time second top scorer with 208 goals for Manchester United and Everton, while also winning the league five times with the Red Devils.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

On his induction, the 36-year-old said:  “It’s a huge honour for me to be named in the Premier League Hall of Fame, alongside an incredible group of players who have already been inducted.”

Vieira joined Arsenal from AC Milan in 1996 and scored 31 goals and assisted another 34 during his time in the Premier League - winning three Premier League titles and five FA Cups.

The current Crystal Palace manager said: “Being inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame is a fantastic achievement.

“To be there with the best players in the Premier League, the best league in the world, is bigger than what I was ever thinking about. To have my name around those players makes me proud and makes me realise how good I was.”

What is the Premier League Hall of Fame?

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The Premier League Hall of Fame was established in 2021 for the very best footballers in Premier League history, intended to recognise and honour players that have achieved great success and made a significant contribution to the league.

All inducted players receive a medallion engraved with their name and the year of their induction, as well as a £10,000 donation to a charity of their choice.

The Hall of Fame have several criteria to be taken into consideration: players must have 250 appearances in the league, or have achieved one of the following:

• Appeared in more than 200 Premier League matches for one club

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

• Selected in any of the Team of the Decade or 20-Year Anniversary teams

• Won a Premier League Golden Boot or Golden Glove

• Been voted as Premier League Player of the Season

• Won three Premier League titles

• Scored 100 Premier League goals, or goalkeepers who have recorded 100 Premier League clean sheets

Who else is in the Premier League Hall of Fame?

Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry were the first two inductees, announced in April 2021.

Eric Cantona, Roy Keane, Frank Lampard, Dennis Bergkamp, David Beckham and Steven Gerrard were then inducted in May 2021.

Rooney and Vieira are the first to be announced this year.

How to vote for the next inductees

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

A shortlist of 25 additional nominees eligible to join the Premier League Hall of Fame in 2022 will be announced on Wednesday March 23 at 4pm, with fans invited to help select six further inductees.

Voting will take place at https://www.premierleague.com/hall-of-fame and on the official Premier League app until 9pm on Sunday April 3.

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.