ICC Women’s World Cup: How to watch England v Australia in cricket final, date, UK time, TV coverage, squads

England are set to face Australia in the ICC Women’s World Cup final after thumping South Africa by 137 runs.

Watch more of our videos on Shots!
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

England have miraculously made it through to the ICC Women’s World Cup final, after knocking out South Africa in the semi-final.

After such a poor start to the tournament, which saw the side lose their first three matches on the bounce, the idea of making it to the final seemed ludicrous at one stage.

However, ripping performances from the likes of Danni Wyatt, Sophia Dunkley and Sophie Ecclestone powered England through and left South Africa with much to ponder.

Tammy Beaumont got the innings off to a flying start, as she scored a four of the very first ball.

She soon edged behind and was shortly followed by her captain, Heather Knight, who scored just one run.

This was of no matter for England though, as Wyatt continued her great run of form and smashed 129 off 125 with the help of 60 from Dunkley.

Amy Jones and Eccelstone contributed with 28 and 24 respectively, boosting England’s total to 293-8.

Out came South Africa to bat, but Anya Shrubsole’s excellence came shining through as she caught and bowled the Proteas’ main danger woman, Laura Wolvaardt, for a duck.

Another wicket from Shrubsole as well as one apiece for Charlie Dean and Kate Cross was then followed by a stunning display from ODI number one bowler Ecclestone.

Ecclestone and Wyatt, right, after their win against South AfricaEcclestone and Wyatt, right, after their win against South Africa
Ecclestone and Wyatt, right, after their win against South Africa

England’s prime spinner took six wickets for 36 runs and South Africa were bowled out for 156.

There seemed such little hope England would get this far after their nightmare start to the tournament, but their talent and composure completely outclassed South Africa.

England must now face old rivals Australia in the final and hope that they can reproduce the magic from the semi-final, when they play the team who have remained unbeaten all tournament so far.

Here is all you need to know about the ICC Women’s World Cup final between England and Australia…

When is the final?

The final of the ICC Women’s World Cup will take place on Sunday 3 April 2022. The match is due to start at 02:00 BST.

Where is the final being played?

The match will take place at the Hagley Oval. This was where the semi-final took place as well as England’s match against Pakistan.

England have won both matches that they have played at this ground…but so have Australia.

How to watch the final

Sky Sports have all the live coverage from the ICC Women’s World Cup.

The TV channel have confirmed that this Sunday’s final will be free to watch for the whole of the UK.

You can find the stream on Sky Showcase (channel 106), PICK (159) and the Sky Sports YouTube channel.

Alyssa Healy celebrates her century during Australia’s semi final win against West IndiesAlyssa Healy celebrates her century during Australia’s semi final win against West Indies
Alyssa Healy celebrates her century during Australia’s semi final win against West Indies

Who is likely to win?

Australia have won every single match at this tournament. Their first fixture was against England and they won by 12 runs.

In the recent Ashes multi-format series, Australia also won all three of the ODI matches, taking an Ashes victory of 12-4.

The odds are not in England’s favour to say the least.

However, if they can replicate the brilliance that was seen in the semi-final, the miracle may yet continue and England could hold on to their ICC World Cup Trophy.

What are the squads?

As the match is due to take place on Sunday, the squads have not yet been announced. However, England have had such success with this current line-up that unless any injuries occur, it is unlikely that they will make any chances.

England: Heather Knight (C), Tammy Beaumont, Danni Wyatt, Nat Sciver, Amy Jones, Sophia Dunkley, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Sophie Ecclestone, Charlie Dean, Anya Shrubsole.

Australia: Meg Lanning (C), Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy, Beth Mooney, Tahlia McGrath, Annabel Sutherland, Darcie Brown, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Megan Schutt.

Related topics: