Snooker World Championship 2022 schedule: Order of play for first round at Crucible Theatre

Here is the order of play the World Snooker Championship opening day.

The 2022 World Snooker Championship kicked off this morning as Mark Selby opens up his title defence with a 6-3 advantage over Welsh qualifier Jamie Jones.

The tournament - taking place in the Crucible Theatre in Sheffield - will conclude in just over two weeks time.

The Championship draw has placed seeded players in slots across the week as they look to avoid an early exit, before they face the possibility of taking on some of the other favourites later in the tournament.

The Easter bank holiday is underway and promises fine watching for snooker fans as they look to enjoy their four-day weekend.

Here is the full tournament schedule, as well as the order of play ahead of the World Snooker Championship’s opening day.

Full schedule

First round (Saturday 16th April - Thursday 21st April)

Second round (Thursday 21st April - Monday 25th April)

Quarter-finals (Tuesday 26th April - Wednesday 27th April)

Semi-finals (Thursday 28th April - Saturday 30th April)

Final (Sunday 1st May - Monday 2nd May)

The Crucible. The Crucible.
The Crucible.

Order of play - Saturday 16th April

Mark Selby v Jamie Jones

Zhao Xintong v Jamie Clarke

2:30pm - BBC One/Eurosport

Barry Hawkins v Jackson Page

Ronnie O’Sullivan v David Gilbert

7pm - BBC Four/Eurosport

Mark Selby v Jamie Jones

Shaun Murphy v Stephen Maguire