England Six Nations squad announcement: Eddie Jones names team for 2022 tournament

The 2022 Six Nations begins next month.

Wales will be looking to retain the 2021 trophy, while England and Ireland head into the tournament off the back of impressive Autumn Nations series wins.

Ireland and Wales will kick off the competition in Dublin on February 5 before Scotland host England at Murrayfield.

Eddie Jones announced England’s Six Nations squad this morning and has confirmed that Owen Farrell has retained the captaincy.

There are six new faces in the squad, with Alfie Barbeary and Orlando Bailey earning call-ups, while Luke Northmore is rewarded for his recent form.

Ollie Chessum, Ollie Hassell-Collins and Tommy Freeman have also earned a call-up, while there is no place for Adam Radwan.

Meanwhile, Sam Underhill and Elliot Daly miss out, however Jones has claimed the pair could feature later in the tournament.

Another big name ommitted from the 36-man squad is Manu Tuilagi who is struggling for match fitness, with Jones saying the 30-year-old has suffere a set-back and is ‘50-50’ to be available.

Following the squad announcement, the England coach said: “Selecting this squad has been a difficult task, we’ve got plenty of good young players coming through and some of our more experienced are rediscovering their best form. 

“We think this 36 for the first training week reflects a good balance of that experience and up-and-coming talent. 

“In Brighton we’ll focus on getting the fundamentals of our game in play right and developing the cohesion of the team. 

“The Six Nations is going to be the most competitive we’ve ever seen.  All the countries performed well in the autumn, so we need to be at our best and improve with every game.”

England 36-man squad


Alfie Barbeary (Wasps), Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons), Ollie Chessum (Leicester Tigers), Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), Tom Curry (Sale Sharks), Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins), Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby), Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers), Jamie George (Saracens), Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers), Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs), Maro Itoje (Saracens), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints), Joe Marler (Harlequins), Bevan Rodd (Sale Sharks), Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs), Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears), Will Stuart (Bath Rugby)


Mark Atkinson (Gloucester Rugby), Orlando Bailey (Bath Rugby), Owen Farrell (Saracens), Tommy Freeman (Northampton Saints), George Furbank (Northampton Saints), Ollie Hassell-Collins (London Irish), Max Malins (Saracens), Joe Marchant (Harlequins), Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby), Luke Northmore (Harlequins), Jake Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Raffi Quirke (Sale Sharks), Harry Randall (Bristol Bears), Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), Marcus Smith (Harlequins), Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)