Welsh Open Snooker 2022: Start time, confirmed players, schedule, prize money and UK TV coverage

The Welsh Open snooker tournament gets underway next week as Jordan Brown looks to retain the title he won with a shock 9-8 win against Ronnie O’Sullivan last year.

The 34-year-old had already seen off Mark Selby in the quarter-finals and romped to a 6-1 demolition of Stephen Maguire to set up a final meeting with the Rocket.

Brown followed in the footsteps of fellow countrymen Alex Higgins, Dennis Taylor and Mark Allen as he became only the fourth Northern Irishman to claim a ranking title by seeing off the man many believe to be the greatest player of all-time.

There are a number of serious contenders to take this year’s title and National World takes a look at how things are shaping up ahead of the tournament.

When does the tournament take place?

The tournament takes place at Celtic Manor Resort in Newport and gets underway on Monday 28th February and the final is scheduled to take place on Sunday 6th March.

Round One will start at 10am on Monday with four matches taking place at the same time.

What is the format of the tournament?

All games up to the quarter-final stage will be best of seven frames through to the quarter-finals.

The quarter-finals progress to best of nine, with the semi-finals best of 11 frames and the final is the best of 17 frames.

What is the first round draw?

Reigning champion Jordan Brown will get the tournament underway when he faces Mitchell Mann and the likes of Mark Williams, Ronnie O’Sullivan and Judd Trump all scheduled to play in the first round.

Neil Robertson.

Perhaps the most intriguing first round tie will see former World Champion Neil Robertson taking on the legendary Jimmy White.

The first round draw in full is:

Jordan Brown v Mitchell Mann

Anthony McGill v Zhang Anda

Zhao Xintong v Oliver Lines

Shaun Murphy v Andy Hicks

Neil Robertson v Jimmy White

Barry Hawkins v Alexander Ursenbacher

Stephen Maguire v Fergal O’Brien

Judd Trump v Dean Young

Ronnie O’Sullivan v Sam Craigie

Yan Bingtao v Ashley Hugill

Liam Davies v Iulian Boiko

Mark Allen v Ken Doherty

Kyren Wilson v Dominic Dale

John Higgins v Pang Junxu

Mark Williams v Michael Judge

Elliot Slessor v Dylan Emery

Stuart Bingham v Sean Maddocks

Mark Selby v Chen Zifan

What prize money is on offer in the tournament?

The winner of the tournament will land £70,000 in prize money, with the beaten finalist claiming £30,000.

The rest of the prize money is awarded as follows:

Last 64: £3,000

Last 32: £4,000

Last 16: £7,500

Quarter-Final: £10,000

Semi-Final: £20,000

Highest Break of the Tournament: £5,000

Where can I watch the tournament?

Eurosport hold the rights for the tournament and they will be showing games every day on television and via the Eurosport Player online platform.