Forza Horizon 5: Xbox and PC release date and time in the UK, Game Pass details, map info - and price details

The new game moves Forza Horizon’s action to Mexico, and features the series’ biggest map, one that stretches from sunny beaches to mountains

Watch more of our videos on Shots!
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

The latest instalment of Microsoft’s smash hit open-world racing game - Forza Horizon 5 - is finally here, with the fifth entry improving upon the groundwork laid by all previous titles.

Forza Horizon gives players a beautifully realised open world, through which they can drive just about any class of car you can think of, from pristine sports cars to chunky off-roaders.

It’s one of the Xbox platform’s most impressive series of games, and the latest addition to the franchise has blown away critics who have sampled next-gen graphics only possible on the new Xbox Series machines.

Here is everything you need to know about it.

Where is Forza Horizon 5 set?

After Forza Horizon 4’s beautiful recreation of Great Britain, the next instalment in the series moves the action to Mexico.

The game features the series’ biggest map yet, one that stretches from sun-kissed beaches to snowy mountains, taking in rolling farmland, historic cities, and lush jungles on the way.

There’s even an active volcano and players will face tropical storms, blizzards and dust storms as they free roam around the map, which is one and half times the size of Forza Horizon 4’s UK.

How much does Forza Horizon 5 cost?

Three versions of the game are available.

The Standard Edition costs £54.99, while the Deluxe Edition costs £69.99 and includes the Car Pass add-on, which will grant you access to downloadable bonus cars for your garage when they become available in the future.

Finally, the Premium Edition includes the Car Pass, a welcome pack, VIP membership and two yet-to-be-revealed game expansions when they become available.

It’s the Standard Edition that will be available to Game Pass subscribers, though players there can upgrade their game to match the perks of the Premium Edition with a separate £35.99 bundle.

When can I play it?

Though the game has been available to play for those who pre-ordered any addition of it ahead of time, it went on general release on Tuesday 9 November.

If you are subscribed to Xbox’s Game Pass subscription platform, you won’t need to pay any additional expenses to play it, with the game being made available there from day one.

The game is available for anyone with an Xbox console, whether you’re still the owner of a ‘base’ Xbox one from 2013, or managed to get your hands on the much more powerful Xbox Series X.

And don’t worry if you do own one of the older versions of the tech.

Graphics experts analysing all versions of the game have concluded that while concessions have been made to get the new game running on outdated hardware, it still looks stunning in its own right.

The game is also available for players on PC, and went live at midnight on Tuesday 9 November (GMT).

A message from the editor:

Thank you for reading. NationalWorld is a new national news brand, produced by a team of journalists, editors, video producers and designers who live and work across the UK. Find out more about who’s who in the team, and our editorial values. We want to start a community among our readers, so please follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, and keep the conversation going. You can also sign up to our newsletters and get a curated selection of our best reads to your inbox every day.

Related topics: