National Comedy Awards: 2022 Stand Up To Cancer award winners including Ricky Gervais - and Sean Lock tribute

Sean Lock and President Zelensky were both honoured at the awards, which celebrated the best in British comedy talent

Sean Lock and the stars of Netflix’s Sex Education were among the winners at the inaugural Nation Comedy Awards for Stand Up To Cancer, which airs on Channel 4 this weekend.

The awards honour emerging and established comedy talent, with the British public voting on key prizes, alongside two additional special recognition awards voted for by industry peers.

Host Tom Allen began the show with a special acknowledgement to “our brother in comedy President Zelensky and the courageous people of Ukraine”, which received a standing ovation.

Prior to turning to politics, Zelensky was a well-known comic actor in Ukraine, and even played the role of president in the popular TV show, Servant of the People.

But who won the big awards on the night, how was tribute paid to the late Sean Lock, and how can you watch the ceremony for yourself?

Here is everything you need to know about it.

How was Sean Lock honoured?

An emotional tribute was made by veteran funny man Harry Hill to his late friend and fellow comedian Sean Lock, who died from cancer in 2021 at the age of 58, having been diagnosed with the illness a few years previously.

The TV star was well known as a team captain on Jimmy Carr’s Channel 4 comedy panel show 8 Out Of 10 Cats and spin-off 8 Out Of 10 Cats Does Countdown.

He also wrote and starred in the popular BBC sitcom 15 Storeys High and brought smiles to many for his surreal content and deadpan comedic style.

Lock went on to posthumously win the prize for outstanding male comedy entertainment performance for 8 Out of 10 Cats Does Countdown.

Sean Lock on stage in London in 2009 (Photo: Jo Hale/Getty Images)
Sean Lock on stage in London in 2009 (Photo: Jo Hale/Getty Images)
Sean Lock on stage in London in 2009 (Photo: Jo Hale/Getty Images)

Who were the winners?

Show panellist Katherine Ryan also won outstanding female comedy entertainment performance for 8 Out of 10 Cats Does Countdown.

Netflix’s raunchy comedy Sex Education dominated the scripted categories, taking home four trophies.

Its stars Emma Mackey, Asa Butterfield and Ncuti Gatwa won outstanding comedy actress, outstanding comedy actor, and outstanding supporting role, respectively.

The series itself won in the best scripted comedy category.

In the two special recognition awards, Billy Connolly was awarded the Victoria Wood Lifetime Achievement Award and Sharon Horgan received the Caroline Aherne Outstanding Achievement in Writing Award.

Other winners included Ricky Gervais for best stand up show, Taskmaster for best comedy entertainment show, and Chris and Rosie Ramsey for best comedy podcast, with Shagged, Married, Annoyed.

Internet sensation Munya Chawawa was also voted best breakthrough performer.

How can I watch the awards?

Full exclusive coverage of the ceremony, held at the Camden Roundhouse in London, airs on Saturday 5 March at 9pm on Channel 4 and All4.

A message from the editor:

Thank you for reading. NationalWorld is a new national news brand, produced by a team of journalists, editors, video producers and designers who live and work across the UK. Find out more about who’s who in the team, and our editorial values. We want to start a community among our readers, so please follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, and keep the conversation going. You can also sign up to our newsletters and get a curated selection of our best reads to your inbox every day.