When does Dancing on Ice start 2022? Date ITV dance show returns to screens - contestants, judges and hosts

Corrie’s Sally Dynevor and Happy Monday’s star Bez are among the celebrities taking part this year

ITV has been teasing the latest series of Dancing on Ice for months, following confirmation that John Barrowman would not return to the ITV show.

The line up included soap stars, singers, reality TV contestants and former Olympians, among other talents.

The judges for this year were also confirmed back in 2021, with former Strictly Come Dancing professional Oti Mabuse moving over to join the panel.

With all the stars and judges announced, fans of the show have been desperate to know when the show will skate onto their screens.

And the wait is finally over, as ITV bosses have now confirmed when the latest series will kick off.

Here’s everything you need to know.

When does Dancing on Ice start in 2022?

Dancing on Ice will start on Sunday, January 16 at 6.30pm on ITV.

The series will air weekly at the same time, for 10 weeks and viewers can also catch up on the ITV Hub.

Who is in the celebrity line up?

The celebrity contestants confirmed to be dazzling in all their sequence lycra this year are:

  • Coronation Street actress Sally Dynevor
  • Happy Mondays dancer and entertainer Bez
  • Paralympian track and field athlete Stef Reid
  • Love Island 2021 contestant Liberty Poole
  • England Rugby star Ben Foden
  • Pussycat Doll Kimberly Wyatt
  • Paul Gascoigne’s son, dancer Regan Gascoigne
  • Popstar and former S Club 7 member Rachel Stevens
  • Former Strictly professional dancer Brendan Cole
  • Presenter Ria Hebden
  • BMX Olympic silver medalist Kye Whyte
  • The Vamps’ bassist Connor Ball

The professional figure skaters returning to guide the stars are Matt Evers, Alexandra Shauman, Łukasz Różycki, Andy Buchanan, Robin Johnstone, Mark Hanretty, Brendyn Hatfield, Vanessa Bauer, Karina Manta, Joe Johnson, Angela Egan.

Three professional newcomers have also joined the show; Morgan Swales, Tippy Packard and Colin Grafton.

Who are the Dancing on Ice judges?

The ITV show has always been led by National treasures and 1984 Olympic gold medallists Jayne Torvill and Christopher Dean.

Alongside the two former Olympians are Diversity choreographer and Ashley Banjo, who joined the panel in 2018.

Replacing Barrowman is 31-year-old professional dancer Oti Mabuse, whose older sister Motsi Mabuse is a judge on BBC’s Strictly Come Dancing.

Oti Mabuse joins Ashley Banjo and Olympic figure skaters Torvill and Dean (Picture: ITV)Oti Mabuse joins Ashley Banjo and Olympic figure skaters Torvill and Dean (Picture: ITV)
Oti Mabuse joins Ashley Banjo and Olympic figure skaters Torvill and Dean (Picture: ITV)

Oti Mabuse was also on the BBC One show for several seasons, in which time she won the show over two consecutive years, in 2019 and 2020 with partners Kevin Fletcher and Bill Bailey respectively.

Who hosts Dancing on Ice?

Philip and Holly will return to the show (Picture: Getty Images)Philip and Holly will return to the show (Picture: Getty Images)
Philip and Holly will return to the show (Picture: Getty Images)

ITV’s favourite presenting duo, This Morning’s Philip Schofield and Holly Willoughby, will return to host the upcoming series.

The pair were absent from their roles on their weekday breakfast slot for a month during the festive season, but will return to This Morning from Monday 9 January.

A message from the editor:

Thank you for reading. NationalWorld is a new national news brand, produced by a team of journalists, editors, video producers and designers who live and work across the UK. Find out more about who’s who in the team, and our editorial values. We want to start a community among our readers, so please follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, and keep the conversation going. You can also sign up to our email newsletters and get a curated selection of our best reads to your inbox every day.

Related topics: