What does City Status mean? Jubilee new city benefits - and 2022 UK winners including Doncaster and Wrexham

No fewer than 39 places across the UK and British Overseas Territories applied

No fewer than 39 places across the UK and British Overseas Territories, including Gibraltar (pictured), applied for city status. (Pic: Shutterstock)No fewer than 39 places across the UK and British Overseas Territories, including Gibraltar (pictured), applied for city status. (Pic: Shutterstock)
No fewer than 39 places across the UK and British Overseas Territories, including Gibraltar (pictured), applied for city status. (Pic: Shutterstock)

The capital of the Falkland Islands is one of eight cities to be awarded coveted city status as part of the Queen's Platinum Jubilee festivities.

Stanley is the first Overseas Territory to be granted city status, while Douglas, in the Crown Dependency of the Isle of Man, is also a winner.

Bangor in Northern Ireland, as well as Colchester, Doncaster, and Milton Keynes in England, Dunfermline in Scotland, and Wrexham in Wales, received the award, said the Cabinet Office.

According to Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster Steve Barclay, these are some of the sites that "make Britain great."

No fewer than 39 places applied to be awarded city status in 2022.

Here’s all you need to know about why towns and other places want to become cities, the criteria they have to meet, and the 39 locations that applied for city status in 2022.

Why do towns want to become cities?

Having city status can provide a boost to communities and open up new opportunities for the people who live there, according to the Cabinet Office.

Previous towns to achieve city status have pointed towards ‘putting X on the map’, being seen as part of an ‘elite club’ and the benefits it will provide to the economy.

International recognition is another factor, which again may provide advantages to businesses and the economy, as well as local pride and a subsequent buzz about the area.

In terms of tax breaks, privileges and any other official perks, there are none, merely status - but it’s what that status means to the community and how the area can make the most of it.

How does a town become a city?

Many people could be forgiven for thinking that a city is a large urban place, with many people living there and of course the obligatory old cathedral.

But the cathedral requirement is no longer a necessity, and hasn’t been since the 19th Century, and many places across the UK are classed a ‘city’ with small populations.

The Welsh city of St Davids, in Pembrokeshire, has a population of around 1,600.

So what does it take to become a city?

The say so from the monarch, usually based on ministerial recommendations.

The entrants for City Status in 2022 were asked to talk about the local community and distinct identity which they feel means their area is deserving of city status.

Any links to royalty are also included in the panel’s thinking, which will work with ministers to make recommendations to the Queen.

A final decision will be taken in early 2022 and announced shortly afterwards.

Who has applied for City Status 2022?

These are the 39 places which applied for city status in 2022:

  • Alcester, Warwickshire
  • Ballymena, County Antrim
  • Bangor, County Down
  • Blackburn, Lancashire
  • Bolsover, Derbyshire
  • Boston, Lincolnshire
  • Bournemouth, Dorset
  • Coleraine, County Londonderry
  • Colchester, Essex
  • Crawley, West Sussex
  • Crewe, Cheshire
  • Doncaster, South Yorkshire
  • Dorchester, Dorset
  • Douglas, Isle of Man
  • Dudley, West Midlands
  • Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
  • Dunfermline, Fife
  • Elgin, Moray
  • George Town, Cayman Islands
  • Gibraltar, Gibraltar
  • Goole, East Yorkshire
  • Greenock, Renfrewshire
  • Guildford, Surrey
  • Livingston, West Lothian
  • Marazion, Cornwall
  • Medway, Kent
  • Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
  • Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
  • Newport and Carisbrooke, Hampshire
  • Northampton, Northamptonshire
  • Oban, Argyll and Bute
  • Reading, Berkshire
  • Peel, Isle of Man
  • St Andrews, Fife
  • Stanley, Falkland Islands
  • South Ayrshire, Ayrshire and Arran
  • Warrington, Cheshire
  • Warwick, Warwickshire
  • Wrexham, Clwyd

Which cities applied for Lord Provost / Lord Mayor status?

A further 12 cities applied for Lord Provost / Lord Mayor status, which would allow them to have a ceremonial representative traditionally chosen by councillors.

  • Bath, Somerset
  • Derby, Derbyshire
  • Gloucester, Gloucestershire
  • Inverness, Inverness
  • Lancaster, Lancashire
  • Lincoln, Lincolnshire
  • Newport, Gwent
  • Perth, Perth and Kinross
  • Southampton, Hampshire
  • Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
  • Wolverhampton, West Midlands
  • Worcester, Worcestershire