What is a TL badge? Why education secretary Nadhim Zahawi wore T-Level lapel badge on TV - meaning explained

Education Secretary Nadhim Zahawi was seen wearing the badge on This Morning

T Levels are new courses in England which follow GCSEs and are equivalent to three A Levels, but why have they been introduced and what is the T Level badge?

Here’s what you need to know.

What are T Levels?

T Levels are two-year courses that have been developed in collaboration with employers and businesses to prepare students for work, further training or study.

They offer students a mixture of classroom learning and ‘on-the-job’ experience during an industry placement of at least 315 hours (approximately 45 days).

What is the T Level badge?

The T Level badge is a badge of the official T Level logo, which education secretary Nadhim Zahawi was seen wearing on This Morning, later posting the video on Twitter late last year.

Alongside the video, Mr Zahawi wrote: “Enjoyed answering questions from viewers on #ThisMorning, including about our National Tutoring Programme.

“I would encourage parents to ask their child’s school about available tuition.”

What subjects will be available?

In time, students will be able to take a T Level in the following subject areas:

  • accounting
  • agriculture, land management and production
  • animal care and management
  • building services engineering for construction 
  • catering
  • craft and design
  • design and development for engineering and manufacturing
  • design, surveying and planning for construction 
  • digital business services
  • digital production, design and development 
  • digital support and services 
  • education and childcare 
  • finance
  • hair, beauty and aesthetics
  • health
  • healthcare science 
  • legal
  • maintenance, installation and repair for engineering and manufacturing
  • management and administration
  • engineering, manufacturing, processing and control
  • media, broadcast and production
  • onsite construction
  • Science

When will they start?

There are 10 T Levels now available at selected colleges, schools and other providers across England.

The remaining courses will start in either 2022 or 2023.

The Government website has a list of the providers who are offering T Level courses up to September 2022.