Green list countries: places on UK travel list after latest update - including Croatia, Malta, and Bulgaria

Croatia has been added to the green list – but Ibiza, Majorca and Menorca have moved back to amber

Portugal, Gibraltar and Israel are among the 12 countries added to the green list (Credit: Kim Mogg)
Portugal, Gibraltar and Israel are among the 12 countries added to the green list (Credit: Kim Mogg)

The government has updated its travel lists, with several countries added to the green, amber and red lists.

However, a number of popular holiday destinations have also been removed from the green list, including the Spanish Balearic Islands of Majorca, Ibiza, Menorca and Formentera.

Sign up to our Travel Guide newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The latest UK travel update was announced by Transport Secretary Grant Shapps on 14 July, with the new rules to take effect in England from 4am on Monday.

Here's how the traffic light system works (Credit: Kim Mogg)

Speaking about the changes to the Balearic Islands, Shapps told reporters: “Unfortunately when we put them on the green watchlist from then we’ve seen the rates double, and also the rates of positivity of these tests double, meaning that we’re going to have to move quickly.”

Scotland, and Wales are expected to adopt the same rules, while Northern Ireland is expected to make a statement.

The changes will coincide with the end of the need to quarantine for the fully-vaccinated UK residents and under 18s when returning from amber list nations.

Here’s what you need to know about green list countries.

How does a country qualify for the green rating?

According to the government "countries where we judge the risk to be lower, based for instance on vaccinations, infection rates, the prevalence of variants of concern, and their genomic sequencing capacity (or access to genomic sequencing)" will be allocated green status.

Speaking to the Royal Society of Medicine on April 1, Professor Chris Whitty explained that “with any border policy is you don’t worry about any country that’s got less [cases of coronavirus per person] than you have, but you do worry about any country that’s got more than you have” indicating that a green status would be allocated to countries with a lower R rating than the UK.

What are the rules for green list countries?

The traffic light system categorises countries into green, amber and red lists, with different quarantine restrictions applying to each.

For green listed countries, arrivals need to take a pre-departure Covid test, as well as a polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test on or before day two of their return to the UK.

However, travellers will not need to quarantine, or take any additional tests, unless they receive a positive result.

Some green list countries will continue to have restrictions in place for those coming from the UK – including quarantine measures – so Mr Shapps said passengers are encouraged to check all requirements and FCDO travel advice before they book any foreign holidays.

Which countries have been listed as green?

Croatia and Taiwan will move to the green watchlist, meaning arrivals in England will not have to isolate for 10 days on return regardless of their vaccine status. However, the ‘watchlist’ status means that these countries could turn amber again in the near future.

Bulgaria and Hong Kong have been added to the green list, which means that travellers don’t have to quarantine on return from to the UK regardless of vaccine status.

From 19 July, people in the UK are able to travel to the following places from without having to quarantine upon return:

Anguilla (Green watchlist)

Antarctica/British Antarctic Territory (Green watchlist)

Antigua and Barbuda (Green watchlist)


Barbados (Green Watchlist)

Bermuda (Green Watchlist)

British Indian Ocean Territory (Green Watchlist)



Cayman Islands (Green Watchlist)

Croatia (Green watchlist)

Dominica (Green Watchlist)

Falkland Islands

Faroe Islands


Grenada (Green Watchlist)

Hong Kong


Israel and Jerusalem (Green Watchlist)

Madeira (Green Watchlist) – Mainland Portugal and the Azores are on the amber list.


Montserrat (Green Watchlist)

New Zealand

Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands (Green Watchlist)


South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands

St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha

Taiwan (Green Watchlist)

Turks and Caicos Islands (Green Watchlist)

When is the next travel update?

The government is expected to give its next travel update in early August.

Reviews take place every three weeks, with the first one on 3 June, the second on 24 June and the third on 14 July.

While reviews normally take place on a Thursday, the most recent one was on a Wednesday.

If the government follows it’s usual plan, it will make the next update of the travel lists on Wednesday 4 August or Thursday 5 August.

Changes tend to come into place the Monday following the announcement.