Green list countries: places on UK travel list after latest update - including Germany, Romania, and Norway

Germany has been added to the green list and France has moved from amber plus back to amber

Portugal, Gibraltar and Israel are among the 12 countries added to the green list (Credit: Kim Mogg)

The government has updated its travel lists, with several countries added to the green, amber and red lists.

The latest UK travel update was announced by Transport Secretary Grant Shapps on 4 August, with the new rules to take effect in England from 4am on Sunday (8 August).

Sign up to our Travel Guide newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Scotland and Northern Ireland have followed England in introducing the same travel relaxations, while the Welsh Government has said it will consider the latest changes announced by the UK Government.

Here's how the traffic light system works (Credit: Kim Mogg)

The changes come after the recent end to quarantine rules for fully-vaccinated UK residents and under 18s when returning from amber list nations.

Here’s what you need to know about green list countries.

How does a country qualify for the green rating?

According to the government "countries where we judge the risk to be lower, based for instance on vaccinations, infection rates, the prevalence of variants of concern, and their genomic sequencing capacity (or access to genomic sequencing)" will be allocated green status.

Speaking to the Royal Society of Medicine on April 1, Professor Chris Whitty explained that “with any border policy is you don’t worry about any country that’s got less [cases of coronavirus per person] than you have, but you do worry about any country that’s got more than you have” indicating that a green status would be allocated to countries with a lower R rating than the UK.

What are the rules for green list countries?

The traffic light system categorises countries into green, amber and red lists, with different quarantine restrictions applying to each.

For green listed countries, arrivals need to take a pre-departure Covid test, as well as a polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test on or before day two of their return to the UK.

However, travellers will not need to quarantine, or take any additional tests, unless they receive a positive result.

Some green list countries will continue to have restrictions in place for those coming from the UK – including quarantine measures – so Mr Shapps said passengers are encouraged to check all requirements and FCDO travel advice before they book any foreign holidays.

Which countries have been listed as green?

Austria, Germany, Slovenia, Slovakia, Latvia, Romania and Norway will move to the government’s green list on Sunday, meaning arrivals in England will not have to isolate for 10 days on return, regardless of their vaccine status.

Some countries have been placed on the green watchlist, meaning they are at risk of being moved back to amber at short notice.

These are all the countries on the green and green watchlist:

Anguilla (Green watchlist)

Antarctica/British Antarctic Territory (Green watchlist)

Antigua and Barbuda (Green watchlist)



Barbados (Green watchlist)

Bermuda (Green watchlist)

British Indian Ocean Territory (Green watchlist)



Cayman Islands (Green watchlist)

Croatia (Green watchlist)

Dominica (Green watchlist)

Falkland Islands

Faroe Islands



Grenada (Green watchlist)

Hong Kong


Israel and Jerusalem (Green watchlist)


Madeira (Green watchlist)


Montserrat (Green watchlist)

New Zealand


Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands (Green watchlist)





South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands

St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha

Taiwan (Green watchlist)

Turks and Caicos Islands (Green watchlist)

When is the next travel update?

Reviews take place every three weeks, with the latest review taking place on Wednesday 8 August.

As such, the next review should take place on Wednesday 25 August.

Changes tend to come into place on the Sunday or Monday following the announcement.