Green list countries UK: places on travel list including Gibraltar and Iceland - as Portugal moves to amber

Portugal has been removed from the ‘green list’ of travel destinations

Portugal, Gibraltar and Israel are among the 12 countries added to the green list (Credit: Kim Mogg)

The UK Government’s “green list” of destinations is to be updated, with Portugal to be removed from the shortlist.

Destinations are designated a green, amber or red rating depending on the country’s Covid-19 situation under a new traffic light system.

Sign up to our Travel Guide newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

A government global travel taskforce headed up by Mr Shapps had earlier this month revealed more details of a ‘traffic light system’ for travel abroad.

Here's how the traffic light system works (Credit: Kim Mogg)

Here’s what you need to know about green list countries.

How does a country qualify for the green rating?

According to the government "countries where we judge the risk to be lower, based for instance on vaccinations, infection rates, the prevalence of variants of concern, and their genomic sequencing capacity (or access to genomic sequencing)" will be allocated green status.

Speaking to the Royal Society of Medicine on April 1, Professor Chris Whitty explained that “with any border policy is you don’t worry about any country that’s got less [cases of coronavirus per person] than you have, but you do worry about any country that’s got more than you have” indicating that a green status would be allocated to countries with a lower R rating than the UK.

Will the lists change?

The lists can be amended at any time, and the government carries out reviews every three weeks

Do the rules apply to the rest of the UK?

Residents of Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland have also adopted the traffic light system.

Which countries have been listed as green?

Twelve countries have been added to the green list.

As of June 3 people in the UK are able to travel to the following places from without having to quarantine upon return:

- Israel

- Singapore

- Australia

- New Zealand

- Brunei

- Iceland

- Gibraltar

- Falkland Islands

- Faroe Islands

- South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands

- St Helena, Tristan de Cunha, Ascension Island.

Some green list countries will continue to have restrictions in place for those coming from the UK – including quarantine measures – so Mr Shapps said passengers are encouraged to check all requirements and FCDO travel advice before they book any foreign holidays.