When is the next UK travel update? Date Covid travel rules for green and amber list countries will be reviewed

The UK government added more countries to the green and amber list in the latest travel review

International travel has now resumed across the UK, with a new traffic light system currently in force.

The system, which was introduced along with a further easing of lockdown restrictions earlier this month, divides countries into green, amber and red lists, with different rules applied to each.

Sign up to our Travel Guide newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

We want to hear from you: let us know what you think about this story and be part of the debate in our comments section below

The UK government will review the travel list again in mid-July (Photo: Getty Images)
The UK government will review the travel list again in mid-July (Photo: Getty Images)

Here’s what you need to know about how the system works, and when the travel list will be updated.

How does the traffic light system work?

The traffic light system categorises countries into green, amber and red lists, with different quarantine restrictions applying to each.

For green listed countries, arrivals need to take a pre-departure Covid test, as well as a polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test on or before day two of their return to the UK.

However, travellers will not need to quarantine, or take any additional tests, unless they receive a positive result.

Arrivals from amber listed countries will need to quarantine for a period of 10 days at a designated place of their choosing and take a pre-departure Covid test, as well as a PCR test on or before day town and on or after day eight. There will be an option to take an additional test on day five to end-self isolation early, except for those travelling to Scotland.

However, as of 19 July, children and adults who have been fully vaccinated against coronavirus do not have to quarantine on their return to England from amber list countries. The exception is France, with fully-vaccinated travellers still required to self-isolate on their return.

Arrivals from red listed countries must stay in a managed quarantine hotel for 10 days, take a pre-departure Covid test and a PCR test on or before day two, and on or after day eight.

Travellers can only enter the UK from red list countries if they are British or Irish National, or have UK residence rights.

When will the travel lists be reviewed?

The latest travel update was announced at on the evening of 14 July, with the changes taking effect on 4am on Monday 19 July.

The travel reviews are scheduled to take place every three weeks, meaning the next update should take place on 4 August and may see more travel options open up.

What criteria is looked at?

The decision on which countries are added to each list is based on a range of criteria, taking into account public health advice and the Joint Biosecurity Centre’s assessment of the latest Covid data.

The criteria for the lists includes:

- The percentage of a country’s population that have been vaccinated

- The rate of infection

- The prevalence of variants of concern

- The country’s access to reliable scientific data and genomic sequencing

Which changes were made in the latest review?

Bulgaria and Hong Kong were both be added to the green list from 4am on 19 July, meaning travellers will not have to self-isolate on their return to the UK, regardless of their vaccination status.

Croatia and Taiwan were added to the “green watchlist”, which means they are at risk of being moved from green to amber.

The Balearic Islands and British Virgin Islands were also be moved from the green list to amber due to a sharp rise in Covid-19 cases.

As for the red list, Cuba, Indonesia, Myanmar and Sierra Leone were added on Monday. This means that visitors who have departed from, or transited through these countries and territories in the previous 10 days will be refused entry into England.

Only British and Irish citizens, or those with residence rights (including long-term visa holders), will be allowed to enter and must stay in a government-approved facility for 10 days.

Speaking about the change to the Balearic Islands, Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said: “Surely no one can be out there thinking we can travel and just rely on things not changing.

“When we see things change for the safety and security of everyone back home we do need to react and act, and that’s what we’re doing today.”

The Scottish and Welsh governments confirmed they were taking the same move as England, while Northern Ireland was expected to issue a statement later on Wednesday.

A message from the editor:

Thank you for reading. NationalWorld is a new national news brand, produced by a team of journalists, editors, video producers and designers who live and work across the UK. Find out more about who’s who in the team, and our editorial values. We want to start a community among our readers, so please follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, and keep the conversation going.