Earthshot Prize 2021: winners of awards created by Prince William, what is prize money, and who funds it?

William launched the awards through his charity, the Royal Foundation

The inaugural Earthshot Prizes were awarded on Sunday (17 October).

The new annual awards were created by the Duke of Cambridge to reward people around the the world attempting to save the planet.

The event, held at London’s Alexandra Palace, was attended by actors and activists, including Emma Watson, Emma Thompson, David Attenborough and David Oyelowo.

Here’s what the new climate prize is and who were won the awards at the opening ceremony.

What is the Earthshot Prize 2021?

The Earthshot Prize is an environmental prize, designed to incentivise change and help repair the planet over the next ten years.

The Prize was launched by The Royal Foundation of The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge in 2020, with plans to name five winners every year until 2030.

The Prize aims to turn the current pessimism surrounding environmental issues into optimism, by highlighting the ability of human ingenuity to bring about change, and inspiring collective action.

Who funds the Earthshot Prize?

Each of the winners of the Earthshot Prizes receive £1m.

The prizes are funded by the Duke of Cambridge’s Royal Foundation.

Who are the inaugural winners of Earthshot Prize 2021?

Protect and Restore Nature - The Republic of Costa Rica

Costa Rica was the first winner of the Protect and Restore Nature award. The award is given to places who are putting in outstanding efforts to meet the challenge of protecting the natural land, and protecting wildlife.

Clean our Air - Takachar, India

A portable machine created in Takachar, India won the first Clean our Air Earthshot Prize. The machine turns agricultural waste into fertiliser so that farmers do not burn their fields and cause air pollution.

Emma Watson attends the Earthshot Prize 2021 at Alexandra Palace (Photo by Alberto Pezzali - WPA Pool / Getty Images)
Emma Watson attends the Earthshot Prize 2021 at Alexandra Palace (Photo by Alberto Pezzali - WPA Pool / Getty Images)
Emma Watson attends the Earthshot Prize 2021 at Alexandra Palace (Photo by Alberto Pezzali - WPA Pool / Getty Images)

Revive our Oceans - Coral Vita, Bahamas

A project from Coral Vita, Bahamas, won the first Revive our Oceans prize. The project, which is run by two best friends, is designed to restore the world’s dying coral reefs. Their special tanks helped develop a way of growing coral up to 50 times faster than normal.

Build a Waste-Free World - The City of Milan Food Waste Hubs, Italy

Winning the first Build a Waste-Free World award was The City of Milan Food Waste Hubs. The initiative has dramatically cut food waste in the city, by collecting unused food and giving it to people who need it the most.

Fix our Climate - AEM Electrolyser, Thailand/Germany/Italy

AEM Electrolyser won the first Fix our Climate award. The design in Thailand uses renewable energy to make hydrogen by splitting water into hydrogen and oxygen.

A message from the editor:

Thank you for reading. NationalWorld is a new national news brand, produced by a team of journalists, editors, video producers and designers who live and work across the UK. Find out more about who’s who in the team, and our editorial values. We want to start a community among our readers, so please follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, an