G7 summit 2021: when is Liverpool meeting hosted by Liz Truss, which countries will attend, and what are aims?

The summit follows meeting of G7 leaders and senior politicians in Carbis Bay, and the Cop26 summit which took place in Glasgow

The UK will host another G7 summit next month, with foreign and development ministers from the world’s leading economies set to meet in Liverpool.

Foreign Secretary Liz Truss will meet with her counterparts from the US, EU and a host of other countries, to discuss global issues such as human rights and the recovery from Covid.

Sign up to our NationalWorld Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

What will be discussed at the summit?

The UK will host a summit of Foreign and Development Ministers from the G7 next month in the city of Liverpool.

Foreign Secretary Liz Truss will welcome counterparts from the US, France, Germany, Italy, Canada, Japan and the EU over three days.

G7 Foreign and development ministers last met in London back in May, which saw representatives from Autralia, India, South Korea and South Africa also taking part.

Also in attendance on this occasion, for the first time at a G7 summit of this kind, will be delegates from the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, including from Malaysia, Thailand and Indonesia.

The ministers will talk through a number of issues impacting their own countries and the world generally.

It is thought that there will be a specific focus on economic resilience during the global recovery from Covid, plus related issues to do with health.

Human rights is also expected to be a major feature of the discussions, with tensions currently rising on the EU’s border with Belarus over the refugee crisis.

Foreign Secretary Liz Truss said: “The meeting of G7 Foreign and Development Ministers in Liverpool next month is a fantastic opportunity to showcase the city to the world, highlighting the best of British culture, commerce and creativity.

“I will be hosting our friends and partners to discuss how we build closer economic, technology and security ties globally and deliver for the British people.

She added: “I want us to build a worldwide network of liberty that advances freedom, democracy and enterprise and encourages like-minded countries to work together from a position of strength.

When will the summit take place?

This G7 summit will take place over three days, from Friday 10 until Sunday 12 December.

According to a government statement, Liverpool has been chosen to host the summit “due to its history as an iconic port city with a global outlook, strong ties around the world, and a thriving cultural, musical and sporting heritage”.

The main venue for the talks will be The Museum of Liverpool.

Steve Rotheram, Mayor of the Liverpool City Region said: “Liverpool is often described as ‘the world in one city’, so I can think of no more fitting city to host the G7 Foreign and Development Ministerial meeting. We are an outward-facing and welcoming region - and nation - known around the world as a global leader in sport, culture, music, heritage and so much more.

“Where we were once leaders of the First Industrial Revolution, we are pioneers of the Fourth Industrial Revolution, leading the world in digital and green innovation. From the recently launched Pandemic Institute to revolutionary projects like HyNet and our own Mersey Tidal Power scheme, there is nowhere that better embodies the best of our country’s past and an exciting vision for the future.

He added: “The eyes of the world will be on the Liverpool City Region during this summit, and we have a fantastic story to tell.”

Assistant Chief Constable Rob Carden, who is the Gold Commander in charge of policing the event, said: “Merseyside Police is committed to ensuring the safety of the G7 conference delegates and the residents of Merseyside. A robust policing plan has been put in place to ensure that delegates can enjoy the conference and the city during their visit.

“The force will continue to provide an effective and professional policing service across Merseyside during the conference.”

What is the G7?

“G7” stands for “Group of Seven”, referring to the seven member countries of the group:

The UK, the US, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, and Japan.

These are all countries considered to be those with “advanced economies and open societies”.

There are several different kinds of G7 meetings, with the G7 leader’s summit which took place in Carbis Bay a few months ago being the most significant in the calendar year.

It offers the opportunity for world leaders from member countries to discuss shared goals and values.