England's T20 squad: Who is retained from ODI team and who returns from isolation for Pakistan series

England have named their Twenty20 squad for the upcoming series against Pakistan

Lewis Gregory keeps his England place but there is no spot for James Vince, who hit a brilliant century in the 3rd ODI win over Pakistan.

Just four of the England stand-ins responsible for a remarkable one-day series win over Pakistan have been retained for the forthcoming Twenty20s, with nine players returning to the squad following isolation.

Saqib Mahmood, Lewis Gregory and Matt Parkinson have all been rewarded for their roles in the clean sweep of wins at Cardiff, Lord’s and Edgbaston, while Dawid Malan keeps his usual spot in the 20-over set-up.

Sign up to our World of Sport newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Ben Stokes, who rushed his return from finger surgery to lead the shadow side and wore heavy bandaging throughout, is rested as Eoin Morgan reclaims the reins. Jos Buttler is also included after recovering from a calf injury.

Of those who were in the original ODI squad, Chris Woakes, Sam Curran, Mark Wood, Sam Billings, Liam Dawson and George Garton remain out.

Head coach Chris Silverwood will skip the series to take a family break, having cut one short following the coronavirus issues, leaving assistant Paul Collingwood to lead the group.

He had originally been scheduled to do so in the ODIs but was among those sent into isolation.

Silverwood said: “The Royal London Series success against Pakistan showcased the exciting depth of talent we have developed in men’s white-ball cricket.

“We have selected a T20 squad that sees the return of many of our most experienced players after their period of isolation.

“Additionally, we have rewarded some of the players involved in the 50-over series win with selection which allows us to manage multi-format players as we prepare for the much-anticipated Test series against India.

“I would like to express my thanks to Ben Stokes and the players for their efforts over the last week, and the counties for their support in getting this series on.”

England squad for Vitality T20 series: Morgan (captain), Ali, Bairstow, Ball, Banton, Buttler, T Curran, Gregory, Jordan, Livingstone, Mahmood, Malan, Parkinson, Rashid, Roy, Willey.

When are the England vs Pakistan T20 internationals?

1st T20 international: Friday 16th July at Trent Bridge, Nottingham. 6.30pm start

2nd T20 international: Sunday 18th July at Headingly. 2.30pm start

3rd T20 international: Tuesday 20th July at Old Trafford. 6.30pm start