Where to watch the Ashes 2021/22: UK coverage of Australia vs England - TV channel, live stream and highlights

BT Sport will offer full coverage of the 2021/22 Ashes cricket series with BBC providing highlights and live commentary

The 72nd Ashes series between England and Australia is into its final Test.

The hosts enjoyed a resounding victory in the first three Ashes Tests though England fought back in the fourth to take a draw.

Ben Stokes brought joy to every England fan by announcing his return to the Test squad following a three month absence. With the omission of Liam Livingstone from both the Test and Lions squad, fans had already begun speculation expecting that the all-rounder space was likely to be saved for the 2019 Ashes hero with the affirmative announcement released on 25 October 2021.

Australia’s Test captain Tim Paine stepped down from his role due to the recent reveal of his involvement in a texting scandal that took place in 2015. Fast bowler Pat Cummins has now stepped up to the role with Steve Smith the new vice-captain.

England and Australia have one of the most historical sporting rivalries with the Ashes series dating back to 1882 and the first recorded Test series taking place in 1878.

England win fourth test match in Ashes 2015 series
England win fourth test match in Ashes 2015 series
England win fourth test match in Ashes 2015 series

England haven’t won an Ashes series in Australia since 1985/86 meanwhile Australia will keep hold of the urn they have had since 2018.

In 2019, due to a rain-interrupted test match at Lords, the sides finished in a 2-2 draw resulting in Tim Paine’s side retaining the Ashes.

England last won the Urn during a home series in 2015 when the result came down to the final test match which England were able to win by 169 runs.

Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Stuart Broad and James Anderson were all part of the 2015 triumphs and are all set to start in next week’s test at the Gabba.

Here is all you need to know about how to keep up with the England squad and their Ashes series

What is the Ashes schedule?

  • First test: Wednesday 8 December - Sunday 12 December 2021 at the Gabba, Brisbane
  • Second test: Thursday 16 December - Monday 20 December 2021, Adelaide Oval
  • Third test: Sunday 26 December - Thursday 30 December 2021, Melbourne Cricket Ground
  • Fourth test: Wednesday 5 January - Sunday 9 January 2022, Sydney Cricket Ground
  • Fifth test: Friday 14 January - Wednesday 19 January 2022, Hobart
Stokes and Leach celebrate their heroics in 2019
Stokes and Leach celebrate their heroics in 2019
Stokes and Leach celebrate their heroics in 2019

The fifth Ashes test was due to take place in Perth but, due to Covid-19 restrictions, this is no longer possi

What times are the test matches starting?

  • First test: 12am GMT
  • Second test: 4am GMT
  • Third test: 11.30pm GMT
  • Fourth test: 11.30pm GMT
  • Fifth test: 4am GMT

Where to watch the Ashes series

BT Sport have the rights for the coverage of the Ashes series. A monthly pass for BT Sport starts at £25/month and gives you access to every BT Sport channel without needing a contract or BT broadband.

The Ashes will also be available to stream on ICC.tv in the same regions via a pay-per-view subscription which will be announced shortly.

Australia are the current holders of the urn
Australia are the current holders of the urn
Australia are the current holders of the urn

BBC Radio 5 Live Extra will offer live commentary for every ball of the Ashes series. This option will also be available to listen to through the BBC Sport Website where they will also provide running commentary, including text messages and tweets from fans around the world.

How to watch the Ashes highlights

As the series is taking place across the world, the timings are unlikely to suit many English fans.

BBC have won the terrestrial broadcasting rights for the highlight show, which will be shown on iPlayer in the afternoon in the UK following the conclusion of the day’s play out in Australia.

BT Sport will also offer short highlights of the Ashes after each day’s play.

Ashes squads:

England: Joe Root (c) , James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Australia: Pat Cummins (c) , Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, Tim Paine, Jhye Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Steve Smith, David Warner.

A message from the editor:

Thank you for reading. NationalWorld is a new national news brand, produced by a team of journalists, editors, video producers and designers who live and work across the UK. Find out more about who’s who in the team, and our editorial values. We want to start a community among our readers, so please follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, and keep the conversation going. You can also sign up to our newsletters and get a curated selection of our best reads to your inbox every day.