World Snooker Championship prize money: How much does winner get? Cash breakdown for 2022 Crucible tournament

The top seeded players in the world are currently competing in Sheffield to win the sport’s biggest competition of the year.

The finals of the 2022 World Snooker Championships are well underway at the Crucible Theatre in Sheffield.

The top 16 players in the latest snooker world rankings automatically qualified for the event and were joined by 16 more hopefuls who made it through the qualifying rounds.

Not only is there the trophy and title of ‘world champion’ to compete for, the winner will also take home a substantial cash prize for their efforts.

Here are all the details about the prize fund on offer and how much the winner is set to take home:

How much does the Snooker World Champion win?

2021 champion Mark Selby. 2021 champion Mark Selby.
2021 champion Mark Selby.

The winner of the 2022 Snooker World Championship will take home a cash prize of £500,000.

The total prize fund for the event adds up to £2,395,000.

The runner-up at the event will also be compensated for their loss at the final hurdle with a handsome sum of £200,000.

Here is the full breakdown of prize money for the 2022 World Snooker Championship:

  • Winner: £500,000
  • Runner-up: £200,000
  • Semi-finalists: £100,000
  • Quarter-finalists: £50,000
  • Last 16: £30,000
  • Last 32: £20,000
  • Last 48: £15,000
  • Last 80: £10,000
  • Last 112: £5,000

The overall prize fund has remained the same since 2020 while the winner’s share is unchanged since 2018.

How much do you get for a maximum break at the World Snooker Championship?

A sum of £40,000 will be paid out for a maximum break made at the Crucible.

Meanwhile, £10,000 is given to any player for a maximum made in the qualifying rounds.

There is also a prize of £15,000 which is awarded to the player who achieves the highest break throughout the tournament including qualifying, this is added on to any prize for a maximum break.

There have been 11 maximum breaks in World Championship history, including three each from Ronnie O'Sullivan and Stephen Hendry.

How does the World Snooker Championship’s prize money compare to other sports?

The World Snooker Championship has a very similar prize fund to that of the PDC World Darts Championship.

The £500,000 winner’s share is identical as is the £200,000 that goes to the runner up.

The overall prize fund for the World Darts Championship is slightly higher, coming in at £2.5 million compared to the £2.39 million at the Crucible.

How to watch the World Snooker Championship

Once again the BBC will have the rights for the World Championship. BBC Two is the main home of the event but BBC One and BBC Four will also be used throughout the two weeks. Fans will be able to live stream the event as well through BBC iPlayer.

The tournament will also be available to watch on Eurosport and Discovery+ in the UK and across Europe.

The Eurosport website and app will also give live reports and reactions as the tournament goes on for those who cannot watch.

Eurosport subscriptions start at around £6.99/month.

It will also be possible to follow the tournament through the World Snooker Tour’s YouTube and Facebook channels.

Related topics: