When is the 2022 Gibraltar Open snooker tournament? Dates, draw and UK TV coverage

Judd Trump will hope to win third successive Gibraltar Open this weekend.

Watch more of our videos on Shots!
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

The 14th ranking event of the 2021/22 snooker season is returning to our screens once more as the Gibraltar Open is set to take place this weekend.

Judd Trump will return as the competition’s defending champion as he hopes to secure a hat-trick of wins.

He won the last two Gibraltar Open tournaments, beating Kyren Wilson in 2020 before going on to beat his close friend Jack Lisowksi last year.

The competition is one of 16 ranking events making up the 2021/22 snooker season which will conclude in June 2022.

This season has seen a variety of winners of the various world ranking, non-ranking, Q Tour and World Seniors Tour events. Trump has taken two of these wins as well as coming runner-up to fellow Englishman Joe Perry at the Welsh Open at the end of February.

The Masters Champion of the 2020/21 season is Neil Robertson, while the UK Championship was won by Zhao Xintong.

Xintong most recently won the German Masters in January.

Trump will be forced to fight amongst a strong field if he is to secure the hat-trick win and the competition will see 128 competitors start with only two remaining just 72 hours later.

Australia’s Neil Robertson in 2019Australia’s Neil Robertson in 2019
Australia’s Neil Robertson in 2019

Each round, including the final, will be the best of seven frames.

Here is all you need to know ahead of the Gibraltar Open…

When is the Gibraltar Open?

The Gibraltar Open will begin on Thursday 24 March 2022 and will conclude on Saturday 26 March 2022.

Where is the Gibraltar Open held?

The event is held at the Europa Point Sports Complex, Gibraltar.

How to watch the Gibraltar Open

The snooker event will be available to watch on Eurosport and Eurosport Player. Entertainment and Sport is available to purchase for £6.99/month.

Coverage will begin from 8.30am GMT.

What is the prize fund for the Gibraltar Open

The total prize money for the event is £251,000. The winner is set to receive £50,000, while the runner-up will earn £20,000.

Semi-finalists will receive £6000, quarter-finalists £5000 and the last 16 pick up £4000.

Gibraltar Open Draw:

Quarter One:

  • Judd Trump v Andrew Higginson
  • Zhao Jianbo v Simon Blackwell
  • Scott Donaldson v Lu Ning
  • Chang Bingui v Sanderson Lam 
  • Ricky Walden v Liam Highfield
  • Haydon Pinhey v Jackson Page
  • Ryan Day v Ng On Yee
  • Lee Walker v Zhou Yuelong
  • Li Hang v Simon Lichtenberg
  • Martin O’Donnell v Jordan Brown
  • Dominic Dale v Louis Heathcote
  • Shaun Murphy v Ken Doherty
  • Jamie Jones v Billy Joe Castle
  • Xu Si v Iulian Boiko
  • Peter Devlin v Xiao Guodong
  • Barry Hawkins v Zhang Anda
Trump will play for third successive Gibraltar Open winTrump will play for third successive Gibraltar Open win
Trump will play for third successive Gibraltar Open win

Quarter Two:

  • John Higgins v David Grace
  • John J Astley v Michael Holt
  • Cao Yupeng v Jamie O’Neill
  • Jimmy Robertson v Tian Pengfei
  • Rod Lawler v Aaron Hill
  • Dean Young v Stuart Carrington
  • Ding Junhuiv Mark Lloyd
  • Gary Wilson v Mark King
  • Ian Burns v Tom Ford
  • Joe O’Connor v Duane Jones
  • Mitchell Mann v Fergal O’Brien
  • Jack Lisowski v Mark Davis
  • Matthew Stevens v Michael Judge
  • Andew Pagett v Ali Carter
  • Wu Yize v Andy Hicks
  • Kyren Wilson v Lukas Kleckers

Quarter Three:

  • Neil Robertson v Liang Wenbo
  • Oliver Lines v David Gilbert
  • Alexander Ursenbacher v Pang Junxu
  • Alfie Burden v Rory McLeod
  • Luca Brecel v Kurt Maflin
  • Hammah Miah v David Lilley
  • Robbie Williams v Zhang Jiankang
  • Hossein Vafaei v Jak Jones
  • Lee Prickman v Yuan SiJun
  • Craig Steadman v Gao Yang
  • Jimmy White v Anthony Hamilton
  • Stuart Bingham v Gerard Greene
  • Noppon Saengkham v Matthew Selt
  • Soheil Vahedi v Sean Maddocks
  • Chris Wakelin v Si Jiahui
  • Zhao Xintong v Jamie Clarke

Quarter Four:

  • Mark Williams v Ross Muir
  • Allan Taylor v Lyu Haotian
  • Farakh Ajaib v Ashley Carty
  • Elliot Slessor v Michael Gerogiou
  • Mark Allen v Mark Joyce
  • Fraser Patrick v Steven Hallworth
  • Lei Peifan v Robert Milkins
  • Jamie Wilson v Reanne Evans
  • James Cahill v Ben Hancorn
  • Thepchaiya Un-Nooh v Francis Becerra
  • Joe Perry v Sam Craigie
  • Kuldesh Johal v Michael White
  • Nigel Bond v Chen Zijfan 
  • Fan Zhengyi v Ashley Hugill
  • Barry Pinches v Peter lines
  • Ronnie O’Sullivan v Ben Wollaston

A message from the editor:

Thank you for reading. NationalWorld is a new national news brand, produced by a team of journalists, editors, video producers and designers who live and work across the UK. Find out more about who’s who in the team, and our editorial values. We want to start a community among our readers, so please follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, and keep the conversation going. You can also sign up to our newsletters and get a curated selection of our best reads to your inbox every day.