Harry and Meghan Netflix documentary: how many episodes are there, episode guide, when is volume 2 out?

The final three episodes will cover why the couple decided to ‘step back as ‘senior’ members’ of the Royal Family

Watch more of our videos on Shots!
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

Netflix’s Harry and Meghan documentary has officially landed. The six-part series follows the lives of the Duke and Duchess of Sussex with the couple promising to reveal “the full truth” about their relationship with the Royal Family.

The docuseries will feature intimate interviews with the couple, their family and friends and gives them the opportunity to tell their side of the story, from press scrutiny and criticism to stepping down from their roles as Royals. In the teaser trailer for the series, Markle explains: “When the stakes are this high, doesn’t it make more sense to hear our story?”

Created by Oscar-nominated director Liz Garbus, we will learn how the pair met, the beginning of their relationship, marriage and move to America. The series will also deep dive into press reactions to the couple, with reflections on “our world and how we treat each other”.

Volume 2 was released on Thursday 15 November and features why the couple decided to “step back as ‘senior’ members” of the Royal Family and their subsequent move to America.

So how many episodes are in the Harry and Meghan Netflix documentary? Here’s everything you need to know.

When is the Harry and Meghan documentary on Netflix?

All six episodes of the Harry and Meghan documentary are now available to watch on Netflix. The release was initially staggered with Volume 1 coming out on Thursday 8 December and the final three episodes dropping in Volume 2 on Thursday 15 December.

Prince Harry and Meghan, The Duke and Duchess of Sussex (Photo: Netflix)Prince Harry and Meghan, The Duke and Duchess of Sussex (Photo: Netflix)
Prince Harry and Meghan, The Duke and Duchess of Sussex (Photo: Netflix)

What is the Harry and Meghan documentary about?

The documentary covers topics including the couple’s relationship with the Royal Family, the pressures from press scrutiny, its impact and why they decided to step down from their roles and relocate to America.

In the trailer released by Netflix, Markle can be seen wiping tears whilst her voiceover says: “I realised, ‘They’re never going to protect you’.” Whilst Harry comments on the “dirty game” describing the “pain and suffering of women marrying into this institution”.

The docuseries also offers an intimate insight into their family life with touching clips of their son Archie bird-watching with his father or running on the beach with their family dogs.

Here is the official Netflix synopsis: “In an unprecedented and in-depth documentary series, The Duke and Duchess of Sussex share the other side of their high-profile love story. Across six episodes, the series explores the clandestine days of their early courtship and the challenges that led to them feeling forced to step back from their full-time roles in the institution. With commentary from friends and family, most of whom have never spoken publicly before about what they witnessed, and historians who discuss the state of the British Commonwealth today and the royal family’s relationship with the press, the series does more than illuminate one couple’s love story, it paints a picture of our world and how we treat each other.”

How many episodes are there?

There are six episodes of the docuseries in total which Netflix have released in two volumes. Each episode is roughly 50 minutes to one hour long.

Here is the Netflix synopsis of all six episodes:

Episode 1 - As Harry shares the impact of a childhood in the public eye, he and Meghan reflect on the secret, early days of their unexpected romance.

Episode 2 - In 2016, the relationship becomes public — and public scrutiny begins. Meghan remembers school, family life, acting and activism before Harry.

Episode 3 - The couple’s 2017 engagement sparks both cynicism and hope. As Meghan grapples with royal protocols, tabloid headlines begin to involve her family.

Episode 4 - Harry and Meghan’s wedding is a resounding success. But as their popularity grows, internal rifts and media coverage take a worrying toll.

Episode 5 - After private correspondences with their families are leaked, the couple makes a crucial decision — and ensuing online campaigns turn chilling.

Episode 6 - The couple arrives in California, where a friend takes them in. Amid painful losses and legal battles, Harry and Meghan begin to forge their path ahead.

When is volume 2 out?

Volume 2 was released on Thursday 15 December. The final three episodes will cover the couple’s marriage, press scrutiny and subsequent split from the Royal Family.

What have they said about the documentary?

In an interview with Variety, Markle discussed the upcoming documentary, she said: “It’s nice to be able to trust someone with our story — a seasoned director whose work I’ve long admired — even if it means it may not be the way we would have told it. But that’s not why we’re telling it. We’re trusting our story to someone else, and that means it will go through their lens.”

She added: “It’s interesting. My husband has never worked in this industry before. For me, having worked on “Suits,” it’s so amazing to be around so much creative energy and to see how people work together and share their own points of view. That’s been really fun.”

Related topics: