Commonwealth Games medal table 2022: how many medals have England, Scotland, Wales and NI won - live standings

Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now
The Birmingham games continue today with the home nations looking for more medal success

The 2022 Commonwealth Games got underway on Friday following an incredible opening ceremony the previous night, with Birmingham hosting the multi-sport competition between July 28th and August 8th.

Unlike the Olympics, there will be no Team GB taking part, and athletes from the UK will instead represent their home nations of England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Each country, along with the other 68 participating nations, will hope to hear their national anthem played as often as possible as their medal hopefuls stand atop the podium with their flag proudly on display.

Here is how the current medal table look as things stand:


Commonwealth Games 2022 events schedule

The action started again this morning, with the lawn bowls getting underway at 8:30am at Victoria Park, before hockey and netball kicked off at 9am.

Elsewhere, we have a number of different sports to look forward to across the day’s schedule including badminton, squash, boxing and diving.

The full schedule for today’s event can be found at the official Birmingham 2022 website.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Commonwealth Games ‘all time’ medal table

Going into the 2022 games it is Australia who are the most successful nation in the history of the competition.

They have won a total of 2416 medals including 932 gold medals.

They will be certain of holding onto their title as most successful nation with England second in the all time table with 2144 medals including 714 gold.

Canada are third in the ‘all time’ table with 1555 medals including 484 gold.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

After England, Scotland are the most successful home nation with their 451 medals including 119 gold placing them seventh overall while Wales are 10th with 306 medals including 67 gold and Northern Ireland are 14th with 124 medals including 30 gold.

Which countries and territories are competing?

There is one extra country that will participate in the Games this year, with the Maldives set to be the only addition from the 2018 edition.

Six nations - Australia, Canada, England, New Zealand, Scotland and Wales - have been part of all 21 of the Commonwealth Games so far.

Here are all 72 teams competing in Birmingham:

National World

How to watch the Commonwealth Games 2022 on TV

The BBC will provide coverage of the Games and will show over 200 hours of the action, across up to 11 livestreams.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The Games will be broadcast on BBC One, BBC Two and BBC Three. Coverage will also be broadcast on BBC iPlayer, the BBC Sport website and Red Button.

Commonwealth gold medallists Max Whitlock and Beth Tweedle will join an expert panel of analysts, which will also feature Olympic gold medalists Michael Johnson, Denise Lewis and Jessica Ennis-Hill, who will cover athletics.

Other former athletes covering the games include Sir Chris Hoy, Rebecca Adlington, Ellie Simmons, Mark Foster and Ama Agbeze.

From the studio based in Birmingham’s Centenary Square, Hazel Irvine, Clare Balding, Gabby Logan, Jason Mohmmad, Holly Hamiliton and Ayo Akinwolere will provide daily live TV coverage.

How to watch Commonwealth Games 2022 highlights

Daily highlights of the games will be presented by JJ Chalmers and Isa Guha on BBC One. Live radio coverage will also be broadcast on BBC Radio 5 Live, 5 Live Sports Extra and BBC Sounds.

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.