The Hundred: Who has been retained and drafted for each Women’s squad?

Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now
Jemimah Rodrigues returns to the Northern Superchargers as The Hundred draft reaches its final stages.

The Hundred draft was finalised on Tuesday afternoon, as the competition is now just a few months away from embarking on its second year.

Dane van Niekerk was the inaugural winning captain as she led her side, Oval Invincibles, from the front to lift the Trophy.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The South African was the tournament’s highest run scorer and will hope to recover from her current injury ahead of her second year as the team’s captain.

Jemimah Rodrigues was another who enjoyed a stand out performance last year. The Indian batter was little known before the tournament began, but became household name after she knocked 94 not out as well as making two other totals above 50.

This year, there was a drafting process, with the Women franchises allowed to retain as many players as they wanted from the previous year.

This could have meant, in theory, that exactly the same squads could have been on the pitch as last year - however, this didn’t happen.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The Women squads can have up to three overseas players and will ideally have an England contracted player - similar to the men’s set up.

As the draft draws to a close, let’s take a look at who made the cut for each team:

When is The Hundred?

The Hundred tournament begins on Wednesday 3 August 2022 and will conclude on Sunday 3 September 2022.

Who has made each squad?

London Spirit: Coach - Trevor Griffin

  • Heather Knight
  • Freya Davies
  • Charlie Dean 
  • Danielle Gibson
  • Amanda Carr
  • Naomi Dattani
  • Grace Scrivens
  • Alice Monaghan
  • Beth Mooney (overseas)
  • Amelia Kerr (overseas)
  • Megan Schutt (overseas)
  • Sophie Luff

The star players for London Spirit are Freya Davies and Heather Knight.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad
Heather Knight for London SpiritHeather Knight for London Spirit
Heather Knight for London Spirit | Getty Images

Manchester Originals: Coach - Paul Shaw

  • Sophie Ecclestone
  • Lizelle Lee (overseas)
  • Kate Cross
  • Emma Lamb
  • Ellie Threlkeld
  • Cordelia Griffith
  • Hannah Jones
  • Georgie Boyce
  • Laura Jackson
  • Deandra Dottin (overseas)
  • Amy Satterthwaite
  • Ami Campbell
  • Phoebe Graham
  • Grace Potts

Sophie Ecclestone and Kate Cross are the star players for the Manchester Originals.

Welsh Fire: Coach - TBC

  • Katie George
  • Hayley Matthews (overseas)
  • Claire Nicholas
  • Georgia Hennessy
  • Alex Griffiths
  • Hannah Baker
  • Lauren Filer
  • Nicole Harvey
  • Tammy Beaumont
  • Rachael Haynes (overseas)
  • Annabel Sutherland (overseas)
  • Fran Wilson
  • Alex Hartley
  • Fi Morris
  • Sarah Bryce

Katie George and Hayley Matthews are the star players for the Welsh Fire.

Oval Invincibles: Coach - Jonathan Batty

  • Dane van Niekerk (overseas)
  • Marizanne Kapp (overseas)
  • Tash Farrant
  • Shabnim Ismail
  • Mady Villiers
  • Alice Capsey
  • Danielle Gregory
  • Grace Gibbs
  • Emma Jones
  • Lauren Winfield-Hill
  • Aylish Cranstone
  • Emily Windsor
  • Eva Gray
  • Kira Chathli

Dane van Niekerk and Marizanne Kapp are the two star players for Oval Invincibles.

Marizanne Kapp for Oval InvinciblesMarizanne Kapp for Oval Invincibles
Marizanne Kapp for Oval Invincibles | Getty Images

Trent Rockets: Coach - Salliann Beams

  • Natalie Sciver
  • Katherine Brunt
  • Sarah Glenn
  • Kathryn Bryce
  • Abbey Freeborn
  • Meg Lanning (overseas)
  • Mignon du Preez (overseas)
  • Bryony Smith
  • Alana King (overseas)
  • Marie Kelly
  • Sophie Munro
  • Georgia Davis
  • Alexa Stonehouse

Natalie Sciver and Katherine are the Trent Rockets’ Star players.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Birmingham Phoenix: Coach - Ben Sawyer

  • Amy Jones
  • Sophie Devine (overseas)
  • Ellyse Perry (overseas)
  • Georgia Elwiss
  • Kirstie Gordon
  • Isabelle Wong
  • Evelyn Jones
  • Emily Arlott
  • Gwen Davies
  • Abtaha Maqsood
  • Ria Fackrell
  • Phoebe Franklin
  • Sophie Molineux (overseas)
  • Sterre Kalis

Isabelle Wong and Amy Jones are the Birmingham Phoenix’s star players.

Amy Jones for Birmingham Phoenix Amy Jones for Birmingham Phoenix
Amy Jones for Birmingham Phoenix | Getty Images

Southern Brave: Coach - Charlotte Edwards

  • Danni Wyatt
  • Smriti Mandhana (overseas)
  • Sophia Dunkley
  • Anya Shrubsole
  • Amanda-Jade Wellington (overseas)
  • Maia Bouchier
  • Lauren Bell
  • Carla Rudd
  • Tara Norris
  • Paige Scholfield
  • Tahlia McGrath (overseas)
  • Georgia Adams
  • Jo Gardner
  • Freya Kemp
  • Ella McCaughan

The star players for Southern Brave are Smriti Mandhana and Danni Wyatt.

Related topics:

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.