When was the last time England won in Australia? How many times have the tourists returned home with the Ashes

Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

This article contains affiliate links. We may earn a small commission on items purchased through this article, but that does not affect our editorial judgement.

England will begin their Ashes campaign on Wednesday and will hope to bring back the Urn to English soil

Australia have kept hold of the precious urn since 2018 will hope to win it once more when they play England again during the 2020/2021 series which starts next week.

It will be the 72nd time the two sides have faced each other in an Ashes series and it is a contest that always brings the historical rivalry to the pitch in every match.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad
Getty Images

Ben Stokes’ return to the Ashes squad has brought even more kindle to the fire and fans will hope for a repeat of his 2019 heroics when he steps out onto the field.

Tim Paine’s stepping down from his role as Test Captain has provided some more fuel and will not go unnoticed by England’s Barmy Army.

Joe Root’s squad are currently making their final training preparations ahead of next week’s test and will hope that their efforts are not in vain. Chris Silverwood and Root will aspire to bring home the Ashes and tear them away from Australian soil for the first time since 2010/11.

JPI Media Graphics: Mark Hall

When was the last time England won in Australia?

Andrew Strauss captained the England squad to a 3-1 series win in Australia in the 2010/11 Ashes series.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

It was the first time in 24 years that England had won the Ashes away from home and until 2019 was the most recent occasion that a visiting team had won the Ashes series.

Alistair Cook won the Player of the Series and scored a total of 766 runs throughout the five test matches. Mike Hussey was Australia’s highest run-scorer with 570 runs to his name in the series.

James Anderson took the award for the most wickets, taking 24 in the series while Australia’s highest-wicket taker was Mitchell Johnson on 15.

James Anderson during England’s 2010/11 series winJames Anderson during England’s 2010/11 series win
James Anderson during England’s 2010/11 series win | Getty Images

The first test ended in a draw despite a staggering 235 runs from Alistar Cook in the second innings. England then went on to trample the Aussies in the second test by an innings and 71 runs. Kevin Pieterson top scored in England’s 620 innings total with 227 runs while Anderson and Graeme Swann took a total of nine wickets between them in the match.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Johnson’s 62 runs and Michael Hussey’s century secured Australia’s only win of the series in the third test before England came back in the fourth to, once again, take control. Fast bowler Chris Tremlett took four wickets for 26 ending Australia’s first innings on 98 runs before Jonathon Trott came out to score 168 runs, setting up England’s total of 513.

Alistair Cook, Ian Bell and Matt Prior all scored centuries in the fifth and final test totalling England’s innings score to 644. Seven wickets from Anderson in the test enabled England to win the test and therefore the series by an innings and 83 runs.

How many times have England won in Australia?

England have beaten Australia in their own backyard 14 times in the nearly 200 year history of the series.

Previous to 2010/11, England won the 1986/87 Ashes series in Australia. The series was won 2-1 with the second and third matches being draws. The English team at the time was captained by Mike Gatting and consisted of fellow cricketing heroes Chris Broad (fast bowler Stuart Broad’s father), David Gower and Ian Botham while the Australian legend Steve Waugh was bowling for the opposition.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Thanks to a century from all-rounder Ian Botham and 76 from opening Batter Bill Athey, England cruised to a seven wicket win.

Mike Gatting, right, captained England’s 1986/87 series win in AustraliaMike Gatting, right, captained England’s 1986/87 series win in Australia
Mike Gatting, right, captained England’s 1986/87 series win in Australia | Getty Images

The next three tests saw opening batter Chris Broad score three successive hundreds and the third of these tests was scheduled for five days but England only needed three before thrashing the Aussies to a defeat of an innings and 14 runs.

Despite 72 runs from Gower in the first innings and 96 from Gatting in the second, Australia won the final test by 55 runs thanks to a century from Dean Jones and Peter Taylor’s six for 78.

After the success of this test series, England began to sink further and further as the Australian team continued to grow and improve and dominated the series until Michael Vaughan’s 2005 squad finally won back the Urn in England for the first time in 19 years.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

All the times England have beaten Australia in Australia:

  • 2010/11 England 3-1 Australia
  • 1986/87 England 2-1 Australia
  • 1978/79 England 5-1 Australia
  • 1970/71 England 2-0 Australia
  • 1954/55 England 3-1 Australia
  • 1932/33 England 4-1 Australia
  • 1928/29 England 4-1 Australia
  • 1911/12 England 4-1 Australia
  • 1903/04 England 3-2 Australia
  • 1894/95 England 3-2 Australia
  • 1887/88 England 1-0 Australia
  • 1886/87 England 2-0 Australia
  • 1884/85 England 3-2 Australia
  • 1882/83 England 2-1 Australia

All the times Australia have beaten England in England:

Getty Images

Australia have also beaten England on their own soil 14 times:

  • 2001 Australia 4-1 England
  • 1997 Australia 3-2 England
  • 1993 Australia 4-1 England
  • 1989 Australia 4-0 England
  • 1975 Australia 1-0 England
  • 1964 Australia 1-0 England
  • 1961 Australia 2-1 England
  • 1948 Australia 4-0 England
  • 1934 Australia 2-1 England
  • 1930 Australia 2-1 England
  • 1921 Australia 3-0 England
  • 1909 Australia 2-1 England
  • 1902 Australia 2-1 England
  • 1899 Australia 1-0 England

The Ashes series starts next Wednesday 8 December and will be played at the Gabba, Brisbane. Play starts at 12am GMT.

A message from the editor:

Thank you for reading. NationalWorld is a new national news brand, produced by a team of journalists, editors, video producers and designers who live and work across the UK. Find out more about who’s who in the team, and our editorial values. We want to start a community among our readers, so please follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, and keep the conversation going. You can also sign up to our newsletters and get a curated selection of our best reads to your inbox every day.

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.