Taylor Swift: US singer makes history as first woman to win global icon Brit Award

The American singer will be the fourth person to be awarded the accolade - and the first female artist

Taylor Swift will make history by becoming the first female artist to win the global icon Brit Award.

Alongside the global icon award, Swift also bagged her sixth Brit Awards nomination by being nominated in the international female solo artist category.

Why is Taylor Swift being given the award?

Taylor Swift is the first female artist to be given the award (Photo: Ian Gavan/Getty Images)
Taylor Swift is the first female artist to be given the award (Photo: Ian Gavan/Getty Images)
Taylor Swift is the first female artist to be given the award (Photo: Ian Gavan/Getty Images)

The singer will be awarded the prize on Tuesday (11 May) during the Brit Awards ceremony, with organisers saying that she has been recognised for her “immense impact on music across the world and incredible repertoire and achievements to date”.

The Brit Awards said: “Taylor’s career is unparalleled and her music and influence has resonated with millions of people all over the world.

“She’s used her platform to highlight many issues globally and recently has been applauded for her work promotion acceptance of the LGBTQ community.”

The Brit Awards described Swift as “songwriter of a generation” in its announcement.

“[Swift] is the only artist in history to have four consecutive albums sell over one million copies in their week of release (Speak Now, RED, 1989 and Reputation), the only artist to have nine albums sell at least half a million copies in a single week and the first and only female artist in the 21st century to score seven No. 1 studio albums in the UK,” the Brit Awards said.

Last month, Swift landed her seventh UK number one album with the release of Fearless (Taylor’s Version), which is a re-recording of her 2008 album of the same name following the dispute over the ownership of the masters to the original album.

Read More
Did Jesy Nelson and Leigh-Anne Pinnock fall out? Fans speculate on Little Mix ri...

Who has won the award in the past?

Only three artists have previously won the award. Sir Elton John was the first artist to bag the Brits Icon award in 2013.

At the time, Sir Elton said: “It’s a tremendous honour and a real thrill for me to have my work acknowledged in this way, and I’m really looking forward to participating in what promises to be a very special occasion.”

In 2016 David Bowie was posthumously awarded the accolade.

Robbie Williams won the award in 2017, who said: “The Brit Awards are very special to me, and I’m humbled to be receiving the 18th of my career next month.”

When is the Brit Awards?

The Brit Awards will take place on Tuesday (11 May) at 8pm. You can watch the show on ITV, ITV Hub or on the Brit Awards YouTube channel.

The awards will take place in front of a live audience, and will go ahead without social distancing or requiring audience members to wear a face covering. This is because the awards ceremony is part of the Government’s Events Research Programme, which explores how venues and events can reopen safely.

Comedian Jack Whitehall will host the awards in front of an audience of 4,000 at the O2 Arena in London.

Who is performing?

A number of artists have been confirmed to be part of the Brit Awards 2021 lineup. These are the names announced so far:

- Headie One

- Arlo Parks

- Dua Lipa

- Griff

- Rag’n’Bone Man

- P!nk

- Olivia Rodrigo

- Coldplay

- The Weeknd

Speaking about her upcoming Brit Awards performance, Dua Lipa said: “I am so excited to be returning to perform for you all at The Brits this year. It's going to be truly special to be back on stage in the UK."

American superstar P!nk will perform remotely from the U.S due to current circumstances regarding Covid-19.