Where is Euro 2024 being held? Who is next Euros host nation, when does football tournament start - key dates

Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now
England and Scotland are just two fixtures away from securing places in Euros 2024

We have just witnessed the fourth matchday of the UEFA Euros 2024 qualifiers and must now wait nearly three months before we find out if Scotland have reached another major tournament. England and Scotland are both four wins from four while Wales and Northern Ireland are fighting for survival following the most recent fixtures.

While Scotland beat Norway and Georgia, England beat Malta and North Macedonia; Wales suffered losses to both Armenia and Turkey while Northern Ireland lost to both Denmark and Kazakhstan.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The next qualifying rounds will take place at the beginning of September and as the teams prepare for the fifth and sixth round of qualifiers, here is all you need to know about next year’s tournament...

When are the next European championships?

The Euros takes place every four years, two years after the World Cup. The last Euros championship were held a year after initially planned due to Covid-19.

The first game of the Euros 2024, which will feature Germany, will take place at the Munich Football Arena on Friday 14 June and the final will then be held on Sunday 14 July 2024.

The Euros final tournament draw will take place in December 2023 at the Elbphilharmonie Harmburg. 24 teams will take part in a tournament which will feature a group stage, with the top two then going through to round of 16 along with the four best third-placed finishers.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad
Scott McTominay celebrates with Scotland teammates after scoring their second goal against GeorgiaScott McTominay celebrates with Scotland teammates after scoring their second goal against Georgia
Scott McTominay celebrates with Scotland teammates after scoring their second goal against Georgia | Getty Images

Who will host the Euros 2024?

There were only two bids for the Euro 2024 hosting country, Germany and Turkey. The host nation was selected in Nyon, Switzerland, in September 2018. Germany won 14-2 against Turkey, The UEFA Executive Committee voted for the host in a secret ballot.

Former Germany captain Philipp Lahm, an ambassador for his country's bid, said: "We have amazing stadiums, fans who love football, first and foremost we have people who love celebrating with other Europeans.

"We will organise a huge football party in Germany."

Turkey’s lack of progress in human rights and its lack of hotel space in major cities were both “concerns” raised during their bid to host.

West Germany hosted the 1988 edition of the tournament but next year will mark the first time that Germany has staged the Euros since reunification. The country also held the 2006 FIFA World Cup. Here are the host venues and their capacities:

  • Berlin - Olympiastadion Berlin, 70,000
  • Cologne - Cologne Stadium, 47,000
  • Dortmund - BVB Stadion Dortmund, 66,000
  • Dusseldorf - Dusseldorf Arena, 47,000
  • Frankfurt - Frankfurt Arena, 48,000
  • Gelsenkirchen - Arena Aufschalke, 50,000
  • Hamburg - Volksparkstadion Hamburg, 50,000
  • Leipzig - Leipzig Stadium, 42,000
  • Munich - Munich Football Arena 67,000
  • Stuttgart - Stuttgart Arena, 54,000

When is Euros 2024 qualifying?

Key dates for the Euros 2024 qualifying groups:

  • Matchday 1: 23-25 March 2023
  • Matchday 2: 26-28 March 2023
  • Matchday 3: 16-17 June 2023
  • Matchday 4: 19-20 June 2023
  • Matchday 5: 7-9 September 2023
  • Matchday 6: 10-12 September 2023
  • Matchday 7: 12-14 October 2023
  • Matchday 8: 15-17 October 2023
  • Matchday 9: 16-18 November 2023
  • Matchday 10: 19-21 November 2023
  • Play-off semi-finals: 21 March 2024
  • Play-off finals: 26 March 2024

What teams are in the Euros 2024 qualifying group stages?

  • Group A: Spain, Scotland, Norway, Georgia, Cyprus
  • Group B: Netherlands, France, Republic of Ireland, Greece, Gibaltar
  • Goup C: Italy, England, Ukraine, North Macedonia, Malta
  • Group D: Croatia, Wales, Armenia, Turkiye, Latvia
  • Group E: Poland, Czech Republic, Albania, Sweden, Azerbaijan, Estonia
  • Group G: Hungary, Serbia, Montenegro, Bulgaria, Lithuania
  • Group H: Denmark, Finland, Slovenia, Kazakhstan, Northern Ireland, San Marino
  • Group I: Switzerland, Israel, Romania, Kosovo, Belarus, Andorra,
  • Group J: Portugal, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iceland, Luxembourg, Slovakia, Liechtenstein

England’s matches are available to watch on Channel 4, Wales’s fixtures can be found on S4C while Scotland’s are available to watch on Viaplay.

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.