Who won the Golden Boot? Top scorers list at World Cup 2022 as Kylian Mbappe hits a final hat-trick

Kylian Mbappe became the second player in history to score a World Cup final hat-trick

Kylian Mbappe beat off competition from PSG team mate Lionel Messi to win the 2022 Golden Boot, but still ended up on the losing side after a dramatic penalty shootout defeat.

The 23-year-old finished the tournament with an exceptional record of eight goals from seven games, whilst also becoming the second player in history to score a hat-trick in the World Cup final - equalling a record previously set by Englishman Geoff Hurst in 1966.

Over the years, the World Cup has been the stage for some of the best attacking players in the world and several of football’s most distinguished names have had the honour of being the tournament’s Golden Boot winner. Mbappe joins an illustrious list featuring the likes of Eusebio, Gary Lineker, Ronaldo and Miroslav Klose.

Who was the top scorer in the World Cup?

French striker Kylian Mbappe won the Golden Boot after producing one of the best World Cup final performances of all time.

Mbappe and Messi were both locked level in the race to win the Golden Boot heading into the final with five goals each.

The PSG stars both had a profound influence on their teams throughout the duration of the final. Lionel Messi opened the scoring from the penalty spot and helped his side claim a two goal lead in the first half.

Messi was imperious for the opening 80 minutes as his side looked set to cruise to victory. But Mbappe responded in the second half and single handedly forced the game into extra time after a quick fire double which saw him score twice in 90 seconds.

Messi bounced back in extra time and scored a 108th minute goal which looked to have settled the game with 12 minutes to spare. However, Mbappe once again got his side back into the game with a 118th minute goal from the penalty spot.

The 23-year old has now scored a record breaking four goals across two appearances in the final making him the most prolific player in World Cup final history. Mbappe is only the second player in history to score in two consecutive World Cup finals after Brazilian forward Vava in 1958 and 1962.

Who were the top scorers at the tournament?

Kylian Mbappe and Lionel Messi were the standout performers from the tournament in Qatar and had a considerable gap on the rest of the attackers in the competition.

Julian Alvarez and Oliver Giroud also played key roles for the finalists on their route to the final. While Goncalo Ramos was the only player other than Mbappe to score a World Cup hat-trick during the tournament.

Top 10 goalscorers at the World Cup 2022

  • Kylian Mbappe (France) - 8 goals
  • Lionel Messi (Argentina) - 7 goals
  • Oliver Giroud (France) - 4 goals
  • Julian Alvarez (Argentina) - 4 goals
  • Goncalo Ramos (Portugal) - 3 goals
  • Alvaro Morata (Spain) - 3 goals
  • Marcus Rashford (England) - 3 goals
  • Enner Valencia (Ecuador) - 3 goals
  • Bukayo Saka (England) - 3 goals
  • Richarlison (Brazil) - 3 goals
  • Cody Gakpo (Netherlands) - 3 goals