Have England ever won the Euros? What is the Three Lions’ record at Euro and World Cup football tournaments

England’s record at the European Championships and World Cup revisited ahead of Euro 2020 final with Italy
Watch more of our videos on Shots!
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

Euro 2020 marks the 10th time England have qualified for the UEFA European Championships - but have they ever won it?

The 2021 Euros signals 60 years of the football tournament with matches played across the continent in a celebration of the milestone.

Despite the Covid pandemic pushing the Euros back a year, and restrictions on crowd sizes, Euro 2020 has been the festival of football that organisers were wanting.

England at the Euros in numbers. (Graphic: Mark Hall / JPIMedia)England at the Euros in numbers. (Graphic: Mark Hall / JPIMedia)
England at the Euros in numbers. (Graphic: Mark Hall / JPIMedia)

With so many games at Wembley - including both semi finals and the final - it has felt like a home tournament for England supporters buoyed by the Three Lions' performances.

Read More
Why do England fans sing Sweet Caroline? Song lyrics and how the Neil Diamond cl...

And, as they dream of Harry Kane lifting the Euro trophy on home soil, many are wondering if England, Italy or Denmark have ever won the Euros before - let's find out.

Have England ever won the Euros?

England will be hoping to win their first Euros at the 2021 tournament.

Despite nine previous appearances at the Euros, England have never won the competition.

The record books show that England have been to two semi finals from those nine tournaments - 1968 and 1996 - prior to Euro 2020.

England's Golden Generation made it to the quarter finals twice - in 2004 and 2012 - but didn't even qualify for the 2008 tournament under Steve McClaren.

A last 16 place in 2016 has been improved on in 2021 as the current crop of England players look to write their own history under the stewardship of Gareth Southgate.

England’s World Cup record

England have reached a first major tournament final since 1966 with an extra time win over Denmark in the semi finals at Euro 2020.

The 1966 World Cup win remains the only major tournament win for England from 15 World Cup and nine previous Euros appearances.

In 2018, Southgate guided England to fourth place at the World Cup in Russia - their joint second best finish alongside Italia 1990.

Who won Euro 96?

Euro 96 holds a special place in the hearts of many football fans of a certain age.

Held in England, the tournament was staged at the height of Brit-pop and Cool Britannia - and the sun shone every day that summer (honest).

There were iconic moments for England on the pitch - Gazza's goal against Scotland, the demolition of Netherlands and Psycho's penalty vs Spain, to name a few.

Semi final heartbreak to Germany and Southgate's missed penalty live long in the memory of Three Lions supporters hoping the same man can lead England to glory at Euro 2020.

As for the tournament, Germany beat Czech Republic in the final to win Euro 96.

How many times have Italy won the Euros?

Italy have won the Euros once - in 1968.

The Italians have been runners up twice - in 2000 and 2012 - been knocked out at the semi final stage twice, and reached the quarter finals twice in nine previous outings.

Italy booked a Euro 2020 final place with a penalty shootout win over Spain and will be hoping to lift the trophy for the first time in 53 years when they compete at Wembley on Sunday.

How many time have Denmark won the Euros?

Denmark – beaten Euro 2020 semi finalists – were the unlikely winners of the 1992 UEFA European Championships.

Handed entry after Yugoslavia's withdrawal, the Danes defied the odds to win Euro 92 in Sweden in a fairytale football story.

They reached the semi finals in 1984, came fourth in 1964 and reached the quarter finals in 2004 in seven previous tournament appearances.

Past Euros winners list

Germany - 3 (1972, 1980, 1996)

Spain - 3 (1964, 2008, 2012)

France - 2 (1984, 2000)

Netherlands - 1 (1988)

Italy - 1 (1968)

Greece - 1 (2004)

Denmark - 1 (1992)

Portugal - 1 (2016)