World Cup draw 2022 time UK: What time is the World Cup draw? How to watch, when is the draw, TV channel info

When is the World Cup group draw? How to watch the World Cup draw information and much more.

Gareth Southgate’s England side will find out who they will be facing at this year’s Qatar World Cup today, as the draw for football’s premier international tournament is made.

2022 will be the final World Cup featuring 32 nations, with the competition set to be expanded to 48 sides for the 2026 iteration - which is scheduled to be hosted by the United States, Mexico and Canada.

27 out of the 32 spots have already been filled, with a number of inter-confederation play-offs still to come, and Scotland, Wales, and Ukraine waiting to decide their fate in June as a result of the ongoing conflict in Eastern Europe.

Here’s everything you need to know about the draw, and how to follow all of the action as it unfolds...

When is the FIFA World Cup 2022 draw?

The draw will take place today (Friday 1 April) in Qatar.

Proceedings will begin at 7pm local time, 5pm in the UK.

How to watch the World Cup draw

FIFA will be streaming the draw live via its official website.

In the UK, the BBC will also be broadcasting all of the action on television and via the BBC iPlayer.

How does the draw work?

Once all 32 participants have been confirmed, they will be split into four pots determined by their current FIFA world ranking.

Hosts Qatar will be placed in Group A and pot one, alongside the seven highest-ranking nations in the draw. They are Belgium, France, Brazil, Argentina, England, Spain, and either Italy or Portugal, provided either make it through their qualification play-off. If not Denmark, will claim the eighth spot in pot one.

Each World Cup group cannot have more than one team from the same continental confederation, with the notable exception of UEFA, who can have a maximum of two different countries in the same quartet.

Who has qualified for the FIFA World Cup 2022?

The following teams have already booked their place at this winter’s World Cup.


  • Germany
  • Denmark
  • France
  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Spain
  • Serbia
  • England
  • Switzerland
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Scotland/Ukraine/Wales

South America

  • Brazil
  • Argentina
  • Uruguay
  • Ecuador

North America

  • Canada
  • USA
  • Mexico


  • Senegal
  • Cameroon
  • Ghana
  • Morocco
  • Tunisia


  • Iran
  • South Korea
  • Qatar (hosts)
  • Japan
  • Saudi Arabia

Who will take part in the inter-confederation play-offs?

With a number of places at this year’s World Cup still up for grabs, the following nations could still qualify by winning their intercontinental play-off clashes:

  • Peru or Australia/United Arab Emirates
  • Costa Rica v New Zealand

A message from the editor:

Thank you for reading. NationalWorld is a new national news brand, produced by a team of journalists, editors, video producers and designers who live and work across the UK. Find out more about who’s who in the team, and our editorial values. We want to start a community among our readers, so please follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, and keep the conversation going. You can also sign up to our email newsletters and get a curated selection of our best reads to your inbox every day.