Have England ever won the T20 World Cup? Past winners of the men’s cricket competition - and England’s record

West Indies have won the T20 World Cup twice -  in 2012 and 2016West Indies have won the T20 World Cup twice -  in 2012 and 2016
West Indies have won the T20 World Cup twice - in 2012 and 2016 | Getty Images

This article contains affiliate links. We may earn a small commission on items purchased through this article, but that does not affect our editorial judgement.

England will play their first T20 World Cup match on Saturday against the current tournament champions and most successful team in the competition, West Indies

England’s Twenty20 World Cup campaign starts on Saturday 23 October 2021 when the current ODI World Cup winners take on the current T20 World Champions, West Indies.

T20 is a relatively new format of cricket compared to the historical legacy of the five day test matches with the first official Twenty20 match being played in 2003. The T20 World Cup had its first inaugural tournament in 2007 and since then we have had five different winners in six tournaments.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Who was the first winner of the T20 World Cup?

The first ever Twenty20 Men’s World Cup was held in South Africa in 2007 and included South Africa, Bangladesh, West Indies in Group A; Australia, England, Zimbabwe in Group B; Sri Lanka, New Zealand, Kenya in Group C and finally India, Pakistan and Scotland in Group D.

The top two teams from each group went through to the Super 8s where they were again divided into two groups. India and New Zealand from Group E and Pakistan and Australia from Group F qualified for the semifinals. India beat Australia and Pakistan beat New Zealand to make it to the first ever T20 World Cup final.

India were the first ever winners of the T20 World Cup in 2007India were the first ever winners of the T20 World Cup in 2007
India were the first ever winners of the T20 World Cup in 2007 | Getty Images

The final took place at the Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg and India beat Pakistan by five runs to lift the trophy for the first and only time in their T20 World Cup history.

Has anyone won the T20 World Cup more than once?

The West Indies are the only team to have won the competition more than once, lifting the trophy in 2012 and 2016.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The 2012 World Cup was held in Sri Lanka and included Afghanistan and Ireland instead of Scotland and Kenya. The Super 8 stage was once again used with Sri Lanka, West Indies, Australia and Pakistan all making it through to the semifinals.

Sri Lanka and the West Indies faced each other in the 2012 final with the West Indies beating the hosts by 36 runs.

The second time the West Indies won was the last time the T20 World Cup took place in 2016. India hosted the 2016 T20 World Cup and there was a group stage format before the automatic qualifiers (India, Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies) joined for the Super 10 stage later in the tournament.

England lost the 2016 final to West IndiesEngland lost the 2016 final to West Indies
England lost the 2016 final to West Indies | Getty Images

It was England who joined the West Indies in the final but after an unfortunately disastrous final over from Ben Stokes, the West Indies won by four wickets to lift the trophy for the second time.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Have England ever won the T20 World Cup?

England have won the T20 World Cup tournament once in 2010. The West Indies hosted the tournament with matches being played in Guyana, Barbados and Saint Lucia.

The initial four group format that had been used previously was once again adopted. Despite losing to the West Indies and not finishing the match against Ireland in the group stages, England managed to make it through to the knockout stage where they faced Sri Lanka in the semifinals. Kevin Pietersen was unbeaten on 42 after 26 balls and helped England beat the Sri Lankans by seven wickets.

England won the T20 World Cup in 2010England won the T20 World Cup in 2010
England won the T20 World Cup in 2010 | Getty Images

In the final, England faced their old cricketing rivals Australia. David Hussey top scored for Australia scoring 59 and taking Australia to 147/6. Craig Kieswetter came out for England and scored 63 off 49 balls enabling England to take victory after 17 overs and win the final by seven wickets.

T20 World Cup Records

Sri Lanka’s Mahela Jayawardene has the most runs of any batter at a T20 World Cup scoring a total of 1,016 runs in 31 matches.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

West Indian cricketer Chris Gayle has the most batting records including the most man of the match awards (5), the most sixes (60) and the fastest century (48 balls).

Shahid Afridi from Pakistan has taken the most wickets, taking 39 in 34 matches while Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga is a close second having taken 38 in 31 matches.

List of Twenty20 World Cup Winners

  • 2007 : India
  • 2009: Pakistan
  • 2010: England
  • 2012: West Indies
  • 2014: Sri Lanka
  • 2016: West Indies

When are England next playing?

England kick off their 2021 T20 World Cup on Saturday 23 October as they take on West Indies at the Dubai International Stadium at 3pm BST.

A message from the editor:

Thank you for reading. NationalWorld is a new national news brand, produced by a team of journalists, editors, video producers and designers who live and work across the UK. Find out more about who’s who in the team, and our editorial values. We want to start a community among our readers, so please follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, and keep the conversation going. You can also sign up to our newsletters and get a curated selection of our best reads to your inbox every day

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.