The French Open winners list in full - who has won the most men’s and women’s tournaments at Roland Garros

As Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic prepare for quarter final clash, here are a look at previous winners at Roland Garros

The French Open 2023 has commenced with the top seeds of Iga Swiatek and Carlos Alcaraz set to begin their tournaments shortly.

Novak Djokovic, the 2021 champion, will start his attempt at winning a 23rd Grand Slam title later on today, Monday 29 May, when he faces America’s Aleksandar Kovacevic.

However, while tennis stars will look forward to the return of Djokovic to the courts as well as seeing the young talents emerge, the French fans will miss Rafael Nadal who has been dubbed ‘King of Clay’ for his tremendous efforts in the capital.

The 37-year-old Spaniard withdrew from the competition as he continues to recover from a hip-injury and it was hoped he will play one last tournament in Paris next year.

Here is all you need to know about who is the most successful champion at the French Open as the tournament heats up...

Who are the current reigning champions of the French Open?

Rafael Nadal and Iga Swiatek are the current reigning champions in Paris. Nadal won his record-continuing 14th title as he beat Casper Ruud 6-3 6-3 6-0 to seal his 22nd Grand Slam while Iga Swiatek defeated American teenage star Coco Gauff 6-1 6-3 to win her second French Open title.

Swiatek will begin her defence of the title on Tuesday 30 May when she takes on Spain’s Cristina Bucsa. Nadal has withdrawn from the tournament due to injury but is expected to make his final appearance at the French Open in 2024.

Rafael Nadal celebrates his 22nd Grand Slam title with runner-up Casper RuudRafael Nadal celebrates his 22nd Grand Slam title with runner-up Casper Ruud
Rafael Nadal celebrates his 22nd Grand Slam title with runner-up Casper Ruud

Who is the most successful player at the French Open?

Rafael Nadal is the most successful player at Roland Garros with a record number of 14 wins at the French Open.

He first won the tournament in 2005 and has gone on to win in 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2022.

Former French tennis player Max Decugis has eight wins, all in the Amateur era, while Sweden’s Bjorn Borg has six wins.

In the women’s tournament, Chris Evert has seven French Open wins to her name, making her the most successful female player at the competition. She won in 1974, 1975, 1979, 1980, 1983, 1985 and 1986.

Suzanne Lenglen and Steffi Graf both have six French Open titles to their name, while Tennis superstar Serena Williams has three.

Have any British players won the French Open?

Margaret Scriven Vivian won the French Open twice in the Amateur era, in 1933 and 1934. In the Open era, Ann Haydon Jones is Britain’s only French Open winner with two wins in 1961 and 1966.

Fred Perry is Britain’s only winner in the men’s tournament, winning in 1935, while no British men’s players have won in the open era.

When is the French Open final?

The final takes place from Sunday 28 May 2023 and will be available to watch on Eurosport’s Discovery+ Subscriptions for Eurosport start at £6.99/month. The finals will be held on Saturday 10 June and Sunday 11 June.

Previous winners of French Open

List of all winners of Roland Garros in the Open era (since 1968)

  • 2022: Iga Swiatek/Rafael Nadal
  • 2021: Barbora Krejcikova/Novak Djokoic
  • 2020: Iga Swiatek/Rafael Nadal
  • 2019: Ashleigh Barty/ Rafael Nadal
  • 2018: Simona Halep/ Rafael Nadal
  • 2017: Jelena Ostapenko/ Rafael Nadal
  • 2016: Garbine Muguruza/ Novak Djokovic
  • 2015: Serena Williams/ Stan Wawrinka
  • 2014: Maria Sharapova/ Rafael Nadal
  • 2013: Sernea Williams / Rafael Nadal
  • 2012: Maria Sharapova/ Rafael Nadal
  • 2011: Li Na/ Rafael Nadal
  • 2010: Francesca Shiavone/ Rafael Nadal
  • 2009: Svetlanda Kuznetsova/ Roger Federer
  • 2008: Ana Ivanovic/ Rafael Nadal
  • 2007: Justine Henin/ Rafael Nadal
  • 2006: Justine Henin/ Rafael Nadal
  • 2005: Justine Henin/ Rafael Nadal
  • 2004: Anastasia Myskina/ Gaston Gaudio
  • 2003: Justine Henine/ Juan Carlos Ferrero
  • 2002: Serena Williams/ Albert Costa
  • 2001: Jennifer Capriati/ Gustavo Kuerten
  • 2000: Mary Pierce/ Gustavo Kuerten
  • 1999: Steffi Graf/ Andre Agassi
  • 1998: Arantxa Sanchez Vicario/ Carlos Moya
  • 1997: Iva Majoli/ Gustavo Kuerten
  • 1996: Steffi Graf/ Yevgeny Kafelnikov
  • 1995: Steffi Graf/ Thomas Muster
  • 1994: Arantxa Sanchez Vicario/ Sergi Bruguera
  • 1993: Steffi Graf/ Sergi Bruguera
  • 1992: Monica Seles/ Jim Courier
  • 1991: Monica Seles/ Jim Courier
  • 1990: Monica Seles/ Andres Gomez
  • 1989: Arantxa Sanchez Vicario/ Michael Chang
  • 1988: Steffi Graf/ Mats Wilander
  • 1987: Steffi Graf/ Ivan Lendl
  • 1986: Chris Evert/ Ivan Lendl
  • 1985: Chris Evert/ Mats Wilander
  • 1984: Martina Navratilova/ Ivan Lendl
  • 1983: Chris Eert/ Yannick Noah
  • 1982: Martina Navratilova/ Mats Wilander
  • 1981: Hana Mandlikova/ Bjorn Borg
  • 1980: Chris Evert/ Bjorn Borg
  • 1979: Chris Evert/ Bjorn Borg
  • 1978: Virginia Ruzici/ Bjorn Borg
  • 1977: Mima Jausovec/ Guillermo Vilas
  • 1976: Sue Barker/ Adriano Panatta
  • 1975: Chris Evert/Bjorn Borg
  • 1974: Chris Evert/ Bjorn Borg
  • 1973: Margaret Court/ Ilie Nastase
  • 1972: Billie Jean King/ Andres Gimeno
  • 1971: Evonne Goolagong/Jan Kodes
  • 1970: Margaret Court/ Jan Kodes
  • 1969: Margaret Court/ Rod Laver
  • 1968: Nancy Richey/ Ken Rosewall