Six Nations 2023: what is a Grand Slam, which teams can win it in 2023 - who has won the most?

Only one team left can win a Grand Slam in the Six Nations competition in 2023

The Six Nations is in full swing and two teams are still hunting for the ilustrious Grand Slam.

Ireland are the winners of the Grand Slam in 2023. England, Italy, Wales, France and now Scotland have all lost at least one game so far in the tournament.

Four teams were with a chance of winning the Six Nations title going into the third round, but not all of the sides can win a Grand Slam. But what is it, which teams can win it and who has won the most?

What is a Grand Slam in the Six Nations?

In the rugby competition, the six participating teams are competing for the Six Nations title. But there is an extra prize, which is even more difficult to win.

A team can be crowned Six Nations champion even if they have lost a game during the course of the five rounds. The result is decided by the team with the most points at the end of the competition.

Teams earn four points for a win, two points for a draw and zero points for a loss. Bonus points can be earned if a team scores four tries or more in a match, or by losing by 7 points or less.

However if a team manages to win all five of their Six Nation matches they are named Grand Slam champion. It does not happen every year and has only been achieved 40 times in the century the competition has been running.

Who won it in Grand Slam in 2023?

Going into the final round, one team is still in with a shout of being able to win a Grand Slam in this year’s Six Nations competition. Andy Farrell and his Ireland side have won all four games so far.

Victory over Scotland at Murrayfield means that only England stand in the way of a Grand Slam in 2023.

Ireland won a second Triple Crown in a row as well as completing the Grand Slam after beating the English in the final round. The game had been close at 10-6 but a red card for England’s Freddie Stewart just before the half changed the dynamic of the game.

Scotland headed to the Parc De France looking to keep their Grand Slam dreams alive on Sunday (26 February). But after a dramatic encounter featuring red cards for both sides, France won 32-21 to end Scottish dreams of going unbeaten in the tournament.

How can Ireland win the Grand Slam?

If Ireland beat England at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin on Saturday evening then they will win the Grand Slam.

Did France win the Grand Slam last year?

France lifted the Six Nations title in 2022 for the first time in 12 years and were also crowned Grand Slam champions. It was the first time since 2019 that a team won a Grand Slam.

In the 2010s, a Grand Slam was won five times including by England in 2016 during Eddie Jones’ first year with the team.

Who has won the most Grand Slams?

The Grand Slam was first won by Wales in 1908 and has been achieved 40 times in total. England have won the most Grand Slams with 13.

In the 21st century, Wales and France have won the most so far with four each. England and Ireland have won two Grand Slams since the year 2000.

Scotland are the only team not to have won a Grand Slam in the 21st century so far. The last time they won a Grand Slam was in 1990.

Italy are the only team not to have won a Grand Slam since they were added to the competition and it became the Six Nations.