Live at Worthy Farm: how to get tickets for Glastonbury 2021 live stream virtual festival - and who is playing?

The live stream virtual festival is described as a ‘five hour spectacular’ by the organisers of Glastonbury

Glastonbury organisers have announced that #LiveAtWorthyFarm will feature performances from the likes of Coldplay, Wolf Alice and HAIM in an “ambitious” five hour long live streamed event.

This is everything you need to know.

Sign up to our NationalWorld Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

What is the event?

Live at Worthy Farm will feature performances from the likes of Coldplay, HAIM and Wolf Alice (Photo: OLI SCARFF/AFP via Getty Images)

Live at Worthy Farm is a live streamed concert described as a “five hour spectacular” which will feature performances from a number of artists.

The event will see bands perform directly from the festival site in Somerset, which usually greets more than 200,000 people each June.

The Glastonbury website explained that the concert will be “interspersed by a spoken word narrative, written and delivered by some very special guests, guiding Festival-goers on a journey through the sacred valley in Somerset”.

The concert will be filmed by Grammy-nominated director Paul Dugdale, and co-promoted and produced by UK livestream business Driift, who have hosted global live streams for artists including Laura Marling, Nick Cave, Biffy Clyro, Niall Horon and Kylie Minogue.

It will kick off on Saturday 22 May, with a livestream being broadcast all around the world.

What has Glastonbury organiser Emily Eavis said?

In a statement, Eavis said: “After two Glastonbury cancellations, it brings us great pleasure to announce our first online livestream, which will present live music performances filmed across Worthy Farm at landmarks including the Pyramid and, for the first time ever, the Stone Circle.

“It will feature a rolling cast of artists and performers who have all given us enormous support by agreeing to take part in this event, showing the farm as you have never seen it.

“There will also be some very special guest appearances and collaborations.

“We are hoping this will bring a bit of Glastonbury to your homes and that, for one night only, people all over the world will be able to join us on this journey through the farm together!”

Speaking to Dermot O’Leary on BBC Radio 2, Eavis said that the event is going to be “taking you on a five hour journey through an evening at Worthy Farm with artists, so it’s going to be like the festival but without the people”.

She added: “We’re going to take you on a journey through all of those spots that you know, you recognise from Worthy Farm… we’re going to build into this whole epic journey around the site into the night.”

Describing the event, which will be a continuous live stream of music, as “ambitious”, Eavis said: “We’re really excited to be able to show the farm in a way that people have never really seen it, with these incredible artists.”

Who is performing?

The line-up includes:

- Coldplay

- Damon Albarn

- HAIM

- IDLES

- Jorja Smith

- Kano

- Michael Kiwanuka

- Wolf Alice

- DJ Honey Dijon

The Glastonbury website also states that there will also be a “number of unannounced special guests” as well.

Following the announcement of the line-up, Wolf Alice Tweeted: “Very excited to announce that we’ll be performing at @Glastonbury’s #LiveAtWorthyFarm global livestream on May 22.

“We’ve always had such an incredible time at Glastonbury so we feel very lucky to be able to perform for you again.”

Do I need a ticket for the livestream?

The event is only available to ticket holders, so you will need to purchase a ticket if you want to be involved in the concert.

Tickets are available from the Glastonbury website and cost £20 each. For £40, you can purchase a ticket and a limited edition Live at Worthy Farm official poster.

There is a ticket limit of one ticket per order.

There are six streams to choose from when selecting your tickets as it will be broadcast globally across four separate time zones. You can purchase a ticket for any of the streams no matter where you are in the world, so pick one which suits you the best - however, you can only watch that stream and not a different one.

On Saturday 22 May, you can choose between:

- UK and Europe: 7pm BST / 8pm CEST / 9pm MSK, EEST and TRT

- Africa and Middle East: 8pm SAST / 9pm AST / 10pm GST

- North America (East Coast): 7pm EDT

- Central and South America: 6pm CDT, COT and PET / 7pm CLST / 8pm ART and BRT

- North America (West Coast): 7pm PDT

On Sunday 23 May:

- Australia, New Zealand and Asia: 4pm ICT / 5pm HKT and PHT / 6pm JST and KST / 7pm AEST / 8pm NZST

After you’ve booked your ticket, details on how to join the stream, along with your unique access code and a link to the stream, will be emailed to you seven days before the event. An SMS reminder will also be sent to you closer to the day of your event if you provide your mobile number at the time of booking.

Tickets are non-refundable.

Will Glastonbury festival return in 2022?

Alongside a number of other large scale events, the Glastonbury festival has been cancelled for a second year in a row due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

While speaking on Radio 2, Eavis said: “We’ll be back never year, that’s the plan, we’re working on that and fingers crossed we’ll see you there.

“Pretty much we are good for next year, which is a very, very fortunate position to be in. So we’ve got a combination of bands that were due to play last year who have been put forward and then we’ve also got some new people who are touring, so we’ve got a totally different line up but there are some things that you’ll recognise as well.”